Fuge ???????????

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Flsprophet2

Aquarium Advice Regular
many people have suggested a fuge for my 29 gal which by the way is an eclipse set up.

I am new to this as some of you already know and was wondering if this is a costly thing to do or is it fairly cheap? What exactly is a fuge and what is needed to start one up. Thanks for everyones help I have learned so much from the people in this forum!!!!!!!

I purchased a pre fab refugium from ebay. You could easily make your own from a small 10 gal tank. Split the tank into 3 chambers. One chamber is the initial receiving chamber that flows to the second refugium chamber that flows to the return chamber. In my fuge I keep my skimmer in the first chamber and the fuge section has a DSB and macroalgae(both aid in nutrient export) and the third chamber houses the return pump.

You would need an 1 overflow box, 2 refugium, 3 light, 4 return pump and hoses

well i fuge can be many things. most of the time it is set up with a deep sand bed(over 5 inches) to help with nitrates. macroalgae also often planted to help take out c02 and reduce nitrates. its also wise to also through in some rock(base rock is fine) to harbor bacteria.
yet sometimes its just set up be a place to put animals that arn't getting along

I do have a 10gal sitting at home I think i might be interested in building one.
anyone know of a site on building one of these or maybe one of you kind souls can help me out. :D

Thank you all

I too am in the process of designing a fuge for my 29g. I have a drawing i did that i think might work. I know that the heater needs to be moved to the other side with the skimmer though. But i think it might work!? I just need to find an overflow and a pump that are the right sizes, and cheap. I might make the overflow myself with some acrylic that i have out at work.