Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-18-2006, 09:00 PM   #1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
fuge / sump

I need advice.

Attached is a picture of my current setup. On the right side ov my tank cabinet is my wet / dry unit with foam filter and bioballs. Next to the bioballs is my pump, which returns the water to the tank.

On the other side of the cabinet is phosban reactor, uv light and just a mess of cables.

I keep reading about adding water volume to your tank by adding a fuge / sump. I just got a 20 gal tank and was thinking about putting some live rock and a pump and try to use it as a sump over where the cables are.

I have a protein skimmer that there's no room in my current system to install. THought I could put the skimmer in 20 with rock.

What is the easiest way to plum this into my system and is it dooable.

Thanks,
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2006, 09:41 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Akron, Ohio
Posts: 247
Send a message via AIM to binaryterror
Well, I use a 20g sump, but that is my only thing seperate from my main tank. You could try using a pump thats a LITTLE stronger to return your water and use your return pump that you have now to pump water from your wet/dry into the sump/fuge. Just make sure that your return pump is stronger, since the head will take GPH away from it.
__________________

__________________
55g main tank
10g sump
ViaAqua SK300 skimmer
40lbs. LR
40lbs. LS
binaryterror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2006, 09:19 AM   #3
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I don't get it.

Now the pump in the wet / dry pumps water back into the tank.

The tank overflows down onto the bioballs.

Are you saying pump water from the 20 gal that would be the new sump into the wet / dry?

If so how to I get water back into the fuge?
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2006, 04:25 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Akron, Ohio
Posts: 247
Send a message via AIM to binaryterror
No. I am trying to say to still have your overflow feed water to the wet/dry. Just use your return pump and pump th water from the wet/drys sump area into your new sump/fuge. Then buy a slightly stronger pump and use it to return the water to you main tank from the new sump/fuge. Understand?
__________________
55g main tank
10g sump
ViaAqua SK300 skimmer
40lbs. LR
40lbs. LS
binaryterror is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fuge/ sump? pat8you Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 01-17-2008 11:32 PM
sump/fuge help mncspradlin Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 7 11-01-2006 05:01 PM
One more fuge/sump ? natman2 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 09-23-2005 09:27 AM
Fuge and Sump Bearfan Members Saltwater Tanks Showcase 4 05-16-2005 08:08 AM
sump/fuge? jennymit21 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 05-26-2004 09:51 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.