Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-12-2012, 11:32 AM   #41
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
Hmmm mine does.
__________________

fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 11:50 AM   #42
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mrc8858's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5,834
What psi are you at fort? Mine fills half way up and I was concerned about it when I first purchased my unit but I've read a few places its perfectly normal for the DI canister to only fill partially
__________________

__________________
Mrc8858 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 12:07 PM   #43
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
70-80 generally. It might just be the design. I don't think the water can leave the DI canister unless it reaches the top on my system.
fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 03:01 PM   #44
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
pcdebb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Brandon, FL
Posts: 682
so does the DI have to fill up before I start getting product water? I've literally only got two drops of product and 10 gallons of waste. is there something with a "flow restrictor"?
__________________
My name is Deb and I have MTS
pcdebb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 03:04 PM   #45
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mrc8858's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5,834
Quote:
Originally Posted by pcdebb
so does the DI have to fill up before I start getting product water? I've literally only got two drops of product and 10 gallons of waste. is there something with a "flow restrictor"?
Ya there is something wrong you should be getting roughly 3 gallons of product water an hour. Do you know what psi your water is at.
__________________
Mrc8858 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 05:50 PM   #46
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
You need a flow restrictor before the membrane or it will all be waste water.
fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 12:34 AM   #47
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
pcdebb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Brandon, FL
Posts: 682
well I guess I dont have any flow restrictors. I've tried everything. I hooked it up to my water hose outside and that was a huge fail., now my carbon block canister seems to not be able to keep water in it. I just dont know what's wrong or what to do. How do I even know?
__________________
My name is Deb and I have MTS
pcdebb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 07:29 PM   #48
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
pcdebb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Brandon, FL
Posts: 682
thanks for all your help. this has just been a colossal fail on every level. I left it on to flow all night, and only got a gallon of product water. my LFS said I can return my filters, tds meter and flow valve thing. I'm just gonna stick with bottled water from the store.
__________________
My name is Deb and I have MTS
pcdebb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 08:07 PM   #49
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
If the only problem is the restricter valve they are cheap to replace. It is just hard to tell without seeing it and I would hate to have you go through the trouble and it still not work properly.

Can you call the guy you bought it from and tell him it doesn't work? Maybe he will refund your money if he is honest.
fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 09:14 PM   #50
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
pcdebb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Brandon, FL
Posts: 682
Well of course the ad is gone, and the number isnt in my call history anymore. I may just put it back on CL and sell it for what I bought it for. Honestly the unit may be fine, i dunno. I dont know what a flow restrictor looks like, i just dont know. water is filling at a snails pace in the di canister, and at times the carbon block canister has trouble keeping water, so maybe there's a leak, where I dont know. it's sitting on my kitchen table (still in one piece for now)

It's just been an extremely frustrating week and this didnt help. maybe i'll revisit it some day, but my frustration with it at this moment is over the top
__________________

__________________
My name is Deb and I have MTS
pcdebb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ro/di, started, stem, system

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ro/di system help Grease General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 01-11-2012 09:02 PM
Ro/di system and corals Fish-guy Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 11 01-02-2012 12:56 AM
How to buffer RO/DI Water naturally Keybler Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 2 07-10-2011 02:24 PM
co2 system for 55g, need advice lamiskool Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 4 07-02-2011 02:00 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.