Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-06-2002, 12:00 AM   #1
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
Give me the good, bad and ugly of CPR overflows

Ok, I am looking for an overflow for my 80 gal tank. The only overflows I can find on the online stores are CPR brand. If anyone has had experience with these overflows please post a response so I can make an educated decision about buying one. I am looking for 1100gph flow at the most and 800gph flow minimum.
__________________

__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2002, 09:09 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Western PA
Posts: 75
I'm not sure who makes this (could be CPR) but this should work.

http://www.aquaticeco.com/aquatic1v1...&srcquantity=1


I use a Tidepool SOS, and am happy with it. You'll need 2 of them since they're rated at 600 gph.

http://www.aquaticeco.com/aquatic1v1...&srcquantity=1
__________________

__________________
Bob Ashcraft
Bob Ashcraft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2002, 09:21 AM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
Ya the first one you posted is the CPR.

From what I have heard they acutally "require" a PH to keep the syphon going if the pump stops. I know the "U" or "J" tube style overflows will NOT lose the syphon if a power failure occurs.

Personally I think that is a poor design if this is the case with the CPR's.
__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2002, 10:07 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Western PA
Posts: 75
I'm not familiar with the CPR, but the tidepools do not reqiure a PH to keep the siphon if the main pump quits. It does however use a powerhead to keep air bubbles from accumulating in the tube, and eventually breaking the siphon.
__________________
Bob Ashcraft
Bob Ashcraft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2002, 10:16 AM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
LifeReef

I am looking at this overflow now. I will need the dual unit and I expect I will modify the overflow a littlebit so I can remove the sponge's on the back and maybe add a short lengh of pvc to the down flow ports to cut down on noise.
__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2002, 08:18 PM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 1,022
Send a message via AIM to Anemoneman Send a message via Yahoo to Anemoneman
I use two overflows on my 75. I'm pumping about 600 gph. One won't keep up. You want high flow through your siphons, that's what keeps them from getting airlocked. I use simple U tubes. Cheap and effective. When I clean one, I throttle the pump back and use the other one.

FYI

Mark
__________________
Anemoneman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2002, 09:02 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
Just a thought, but instead of two overflows, couldn't you simply use two U tubes or J tubes in one overflow. I used to do it all the time.
__________________

__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
flow, overflows

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ALGAES the good bad and UGLY DJLiquid Nano Reefs 5 10-08-2008 03:43 PM
SW Sponge - Good? Bad? Ugly? dscount Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 02-04-2006 08:27 PM
LFS's The Good, The Bad, The Ugly!!! cj10488 Northwest & Mountain States 7 09-29-2005 11:17 PM
Lava rock: Good, Bad or Ugly? cherijon Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 02-03-2005 12:05 PM
LFS, the Good the Bad the Ugly. Scottw68TN Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 10 09-19-2003 04:19 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.