Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-03-2010, 06:26 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
CEverii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Daytona Beach FL
Posts: 298
Glass Drilling, Sump Connecting Madness

Ok so after some 3 posts about trying to figure out what im going to do about my sump situation I have figured it out, and I want to make sure it will work. I'm going to use two 10gal glass aquariums connected via pvc pipe as my sump. Im going to have to drill a hole in each tank, then run maybe 6 inches of pvc to connect. Im pretty sure i have a 800gph overflow currently. Im going to have that flowing into one 10g with my skimmer in it. Then i plan on drilling a hole near the top of the tank, and running it into the other tank with my return pump. How big should the holes be so ill have enough water flow between the two tanks so the tank wont overflow.
__________________

__________________
CEverii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2010, 06:32 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
a 1.5" bulkhead should be fine. i wouldn't go with a 1".
why were you using 2 tanks again? space constraints?
__________________

__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2010, 06:39 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
CEverii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Daytona Beach FL
Posts: 298
Yeah. The stand i had built for me is tight on the inside. He put the center support beams vertical instead of horizontal so Ive only got 9inch of width between them. I dont want to risk cutting them out and rotating them so i'm just going to do the two 10gal setup. 10gal is a perfect fit. Is the location of the hole a big factor? I want to drill the hole as close to the top of the tank as i can so my skimmer will have pleny of water to sit in.
__________________
CEverii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2010, 05:34 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
skimmers have a recommended water depth that is optimal for maximum efficiency. it's usually 8"-10", so i would plan on that depth.

btw, what size display is this? i'm betting you don't even need the center braces. can you post a pic of the stand?
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2010, 11:30 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
CEverii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Daytona Beach FL
Posts: 298
Is a 75g. About 100lbs of sand and 100lbs of rock. Heres the link to the thread with pics of the inside


Need a new sump, with tight restrictions...
__________________
CEverii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2010, 12:39 PM   #6
Sliced Bread
 
neilanh's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 8,482
Just my experience, 10g tanks are extremely hard to drill because the glass is so thin. It's doable, but I shattered 2 tanks before I got one drilled and usable. Luckily their cheap - just don't be surprised if you break one. Set out plastic or something to catch the glass just in case.
__________________
~Neilan
In the DC Metro Area? Check out GWAPA and WAMAS
neilanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2010, 08:51 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
i don't think you even need the center brace in the front. just glue and screw a 2x4 across the front of the tank in the place of the brace on end. that's more than enough.
have you seen store bought stands for a tank this size? they are not nearly as well built as yours and hold a tank fine for years and years.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2010, 05:23 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Oxford,England
Posts: 1,384
I see your using an overflow, be aware you need to keep enough room in your sumps to take water from your dt if you have a power cut,make sure when your up and running to drill a hole in the return pipe in your dt just under the water level for an air break to keep back flow water to a min,have a look in my profile under new ongoing tank,I also have 2 sumps due to space!!I personally would keep the connecting pipe at least 4" from the top.
__________________

__________________
Old Chinese proverb:
Don't go to bed with ichy bum
wake up with smelly finger!!
David S is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
glass, sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Drilling holes in glass yohann976 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 6 10-01-2009 03:06 PM
Drilling glass --Michael-- DIY Projects 12 04-14-2009 01:20 PM
Drilling glass or cutting glass Jeraljay DIY Projects 4 01-23-2006 01:36 AM
drilling glass? Jeraljay Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 12-25-2005 02:45 PM
Drilling Glass Aquariums JonSolo Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 03-09-2005 07:23 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.