Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-24-2010, 12:09 AM   #11
Sliced Bread
 
neilanh's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 8,482
no size limit, but as always in this hobby bigger is better
__________________

__________________
~Neilan
In the DC Metro Area? Check out GWAPA and WAMAS
neilanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 04:56 PM   #12
is back to save the day!
 
Zer0's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,194
Indeed. I'll have to see what i've got to work with. But something is better than nothing right? The fuge might be a little less than half of the 10G. I'll just put up two baffles to slow the water flow down a bit.
__________________

__________________
Thanks.
-Kevin
Zer0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 05:15 PM   #13
Sliced Bread
 
neilanh's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 8,482
Yes, anything is better than nothing, i absolutely agree.

The baffles won't help, though. When we talk about flow in a fuge we're not talking about velocity, we're literally talking about the amount of turnover of water. If your pump is pushing 700gph, baffles aren't going to slow that 700gph down, it's still 700, it just doesn't have as much force behind it.

I'm not saying 700gph is too much for a fuge, btw, just illistrating the point. Most of us like a slower moving fuge because it allows more contact time for the water to be with the macro algaes, allowing the algaes time to actually consume the nutrients better. I don't know that there's a magic flow rate for contact time in a fuge, but for me my fuge runs at about 100-150gph, and I'm able to control that due to my setup. You're a little more restricted, just based on available space, so I don't think you can achieve that - but still, like I said initially, anything is better than nothing.
__________________
~Neilan
In the DC Metro Area? Check out GWAPA and WAMAS
neilanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 06:04 PM   #14
is back to save the day!
 
Zer0's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,194
Great point. Then i'm not sure what i'll do. I may just not have the benefit of having a fuge, and all i'll be able to have is just a sump for the heaters and the extra water volume.

In your opinion, do you think there would be any way for me to have the best of both worlds without having to do a HOB fuge? Or does it look like it's just going to be a sump for me.. considering the tank size.
__________________

__________________
Thanks.
-Kevin
Zer0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
glass, holes

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
glass-holes 1500gph overflow $75+shipping jrp1588 Archive 0 02-23-2010 06:03 PM
Drilling holes in glass yohann976 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 6 10-01-2009 03:06 PM
FW Newbie : Aqueon (All-Glass) 55 kit crabby New Acquisitions 10 08-20-2008 02:51 PM
Need someone knowledegable about glass and drilling holes Civicman86 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 01-20-2007 06:23 AM
All-Glass MegaFlow Kit sevise Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 09-14-2004 12:37 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.