Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 10-02-2010, 03:28 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Good Filters?

Hey there, AA. I'm a newbie FWT owner, and I'm interested in getting a filter for my 100G tank. Are there certain brands or strengths (gph) filters that I should look into, and how many should I get?

Old 10-02-2010, 03:51 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

I think a powerhead would do okay for you, is the tank a rectangle?
An Marineland Emperor 400 should be all you need.
Mechanical and biological filtration. Some people use the sump or canister filter, but I don;t know that advantage of those. I assume they are useful for tanks with >100 gals.

Old 10-02-2010, 03:57 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Yes, the tank is rectangular. Thank you for the suggestion, I will look into it.
Old 10-02-2010, 04:05 PM   #4
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin

Tank of the Month Award

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexgcali View Post
An Marineland Emperor 400 should be all you need.
That`s what I use in a couple of my FW tanks. Works great. I`m sure there are other suggestions out there.

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank

AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2010, 06:07 PM   #5
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years

POTM Champion