Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-03-2011, 01:23 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
1 LARA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 424
graVEL VACUUM

SO i bought the vacuum gravel kit and it will not work.
In mi mechanical experiance it looks like a simple venturi
how mucf watr psi is required on a scale from 1 to 10 1 being not much 10 being alot?
__________________

__________________
1 LARA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 01:40 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mr. Limpet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Northern California (Marin)
Posts: 4,505
PSI? Maybe 1 or 2 would be my guesstimate.

There are 3 ways to get a gravel vac syphoning that I know of.

There should be a flapper valve that as you have the tube in the tank water rock it forwards and backwards (horizontally) it fills the hose to get the syphon going.

The next way is to dip the tube into the water and fill it, with a hand ready to plug the drain end of the hose, raise the tube up (vertically) until the hose is filled then stop the flow with your thumb before the tube empties. Put the tube back into the water till the tube is full of water, then let go of the drain end with your thumb and it should just start to flow.

The last way can be the nastiest if you aren't quick lol. Put the tube in the tank, fill it with water, then create a vacuum by sucking on the drain end of the hose until water is flowing.
__________________

__________________
Mr. Limpet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 01:43 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Deckape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,567
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Limpet
PSI? Maybe 1 or 2 would be my guesstimate.

There are 3 ways to get a gravel vac syphoning that I know of.

There should be a flapper valve that as you have the tube in the tank water rock it forwards and backwards (horizontally) it fills the hose to get the syphon going.

The next way is to dip the tube into the water and fill it, with a hand ready to plug the drain end of the hose, raise the tube up (vertically) until the hose is filled then stop the flow with your thumb before the tube empties. Put the tube back into the water till the tube is full of water, then let go of the drain end with your thumb and it should just start to flow.

The last way can be the nastiest if you aren't quick lol. Put the tube in the tank, fill it with water, then create a vacuum by sucking on the drain end of the hose until water is flowing.
And try not to get a mouth full!
__________________
Smile, it makes folks think that you're up to something.

http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...ml#post1456422
Deckape is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 01:47 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Bl80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: pittsburgh, pa
Posts: 576
Wink

or I was told to start filling the tank to get it full of water then drain. Fortunatly mine goes right down stairs to the drain or outside to the garden and plants, so I dont have to use water. I just do as Mr. Limpet says and invert the cleaning tube and fill with water and lift till it releases a ton of bubbles and starts to siphon. Once you get it working its an awesome investment!! I had to break my hand to get my other half to let me invest in it! I designed a hose from down stairs to pump water to buckets and used a powerhead and hoses to pump water from that into tank. Not the greatest or by far best looking but worked for me with what I had laying around
__________________
"Why does Sea World have a sea food restaurant?? I am half way thru my fish burger when I realize, OMG I could be eating a SLOW LEARNER!!" ~Lynda Montgomery
Bl80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 01:54 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mr. Limpet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Northern California (Marin)
Posts: 4,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bl80 View Post
or I was told to start filling the tank to get it full of water then drain. Fortunatly mine goes right down stairs to the drain or outside to the garden and plants, so I dont have to use water. I just do as Mr. Limpet says and invert the cleaning tube and fill with water and lift till it releases a ton of bubbles and starts to siphon. Once you get it working its an awesome investment!! I had to break my hand to get my other half to let me invest in it! I designed a hose from down stairs to pump water to buckets and used a powerhead and hoses to pump water from that into tank. Not the greatest or by far best looking but worked for me with what I had laying around
I figure out a way to get it down stairs from my dining room deck. An oversized gutter catch bin and down spout into a 20g can. Works like a champ, may even patent it lol.
__________________
Mr. Limpet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 02:46 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
1 LARA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 424
i got it . I only needed about 10' so I cut the rest off
__________________
1 LARA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 02:54 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Bl80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: pittsburgh, pa
Posts: 576
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Limpet View Post
I figure out a way to get it down stairs from my dining room deck. An oversized gutter catch bin and down spout into a 20g can. Works like a champ, may even patent it lol.
recycle my garden and plants thrive on my fish water....lol i used to just siphone the bottom into buckets then put a hose and screen thing i made in tank. This is much better
__________________
"Why does Sea World have a sea food restaurant?? I am half way thru my fish burger when I realize, OMG I could be eating a SLOW LEARNER!!" ~Lynda Montgomery
Bl80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 08:54 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
1 LARA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 424
checking edits

checking signature
__________________
1 LARA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 08:56 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
1 LARA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 424
cant get list of aquarium under mi post like signatures
__________________

__________________
1 LARA is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gravel, gravel vac, gravel vacuum

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gravel Vacuum cdamouse General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 04-10-2011 12:41 AM
Gravel Vacuum Dexrop Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 8 09-11-2010 07:42 PM
Best Gravel Vacuum briandoran General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 16 05-03-2006 10:23 PM
How often to vacuum the gravel? hashbaz Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 10 09-11-2004 01:36 PM
Gravel Vacuum Use Susanne Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 10-07-2002 12:15 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.