Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 11-15-2011, 09:34 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak

Ground probes and y they are not useful

Ok so on different forum I was trolling along and made this statement on a thread and was ignored hopefully I won't be here. Just to clarify I am a electrician and I'm in school for this so I am up to date on electrical systems and how they work. I would like to state why ground probes will not help take stray voltage or a short back to the source witch could be dangerous you or someone you know could die if you have 120v + in you aquarium the only purpose a ground rod has in the electrical system is to remove voltage surges and lightning strikes from your electrical system you can actually take a ground rod and drive it into the ground put the hot side of a circuit on it and it won't trip now it will if u put it on your current ground rod because it is bonded in the panel if u have stray voltage and it's not 120 it shouldn't hurt the dis because they are at the same potential and nothing is grounded so the voltage is not there to them if u ground it it might read zero but it's only because the current is trying to get back to the source(transformer ) through the ground. so it's best to find the equipment that is causing the problem not grounding it

Old 11-18-2011, 08:05 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic

POTM Champion

That's why there are GFCI sockets I'm sure nobody would leave equipment in their tank if they knew it was malfunctioning or leaking stray voltage.

--Adeeb

adeebm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 08:22 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak