Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 12-14-2011, 01:28 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic

grounding probe?

do I need a grounding probe? It seems that if you have all modern equipment you wouldn't but....

I have a 120 gal reef with all the usual equipment.

Old 12-14-2011, 10:03 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

I ran one on my reef tank. When you got your hands in the water a lot and ever experienced a shock like I have never hurts to be on the safe side. There cheap and easy to install.

Old 12-14-2011, 06:50 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict

as an electrician i would highly advise against on, gettign a probe you're more then likely going to kill y our system with electricution.

stray voltage sitting in the water is making the fish the same potenctal when you add the probe you are finishing a circuit which will pull amperage through. the amperage going through the system is watch will do all the damage so frankly as far as i'm concerned a grounding probe is only good for the manufacture who is trying to make money off you.

if you're worried about shocks and voltage leaks then invest in a GFI outlet to plug you electrical into, what will sense a difference in current which will trip the GFI and let you know there is a problem somewhere.
Old 12-14-2011, 06:54 PM   #4
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years

POTM Champion

Grounding probe? waste of money? - Reef Central Online Community

Read post #18

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 07:14 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice