Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-19-2006, 03:21 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,472
has anyone tried or used the Seachem Ammonia Alert sensor??

has anyone used this device or something similar?
if so, how is it? is it worth buying?





__________________

__________________
Bubble_B0y is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2006, 11:41 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 33
I had the same question. I'm glad I didn't double post...
__________________

__________________
Somewhere...beyond the sea...
55 Gal FW Tank Glass
5 Guppies, 1 Male, 4 Female
3 Cory Cats
1 Pleco
1 Snail
DPirateRoberts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2006, 12:04 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Alshain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Tyler, TX
Posts: 823
Never used it, I wouldn't rely on it instead of a good liquid test but it might be nice way to watch for spikes.
Alshain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2006, 03:23 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Lonewolfblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wenatchee, WA
Posts: 8,435
Send a message via ICQ to Lonewolfblue Send a message via Yahoo to Lonewolfblue
My personal opinion is it's a nice visual indicator if using during cycling and testing regularly as well, but in a fully cycled system, it's totally useless. If your system is cycled, there should be no ammonia. So to me it would be a waste of money.
__________________
55G Filstar XP3 - 16" Fire Eel
75G Medium Planted - Filstar XP3 Low Light - Established Feb 2006
Lonewolfblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2006, 05:16 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 926
I agree that it is a waste of money. If the tank is cycled you shouldn't have ammonia spikes unless the bacteria is killed of. Also, if you use prime or any ammonia detoxifier it will alert to ammonia even when it is fine because the test can't distinguish that the ammonia is ok.
__________________
Anybody who's seen the personality of fish has had their minds and hearts opened to a whole new world.
DepotFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
alert, ammonia, seachem

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ammonia Alert by Seachem, Anybody tried it? kreesdqban Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 02-23-2009 08:36 PM
I wonder if this thing work... Seachem Ammonia Alert weekf Saltwater Reef Aquaria 9 11-15-2006 11:00 PM
Seachem Ammonia alert- does it work? swissfish Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 01-03-2005 11:19 AM
Seachem "Ammonia Alert" patryuji Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 02-23-2004 11:15 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.