Heater Question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Lmacbeth

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi all,

I'm new to the tropical tank set-up and I'm just wondering what short terms steps I should take to protect my fish if there was a power cut or the heater stopped working?

I have 5 assorted Mollies in a 10g tank. How long can a temp drop be tolerated? If it happened while I was at work, they could be subjected to the lower temp for hours before I even found out there was a problem!

I hope it wont ever happen but I'd like to be prepared just in case!

Lmacbeth

For tropical tanks, when the temp's fall below 70F, you could have problems. Go here http://www.thekrib.com/Misc/outage.html for some great info about what to do about outages.

Most people will tell you that you will probably have to wrap blankets around your tank in order to insulate it when the power goes out.

how cold do you keep your room temperature?

If the heater fails in the off position then the water temp will SLOWLY lower to your room temperature usually. The lights might keep it a few degrees above room temp. Most tropical fish will be find down in the upper 60's assuming you slowly warm them back up.

What I find is a good quality heater is a good investment over the cheap heaters.

I'm in Ireland so it's never extremely warm :D although on the plus side it's never extremely cold either.... not sure about the room temp? :roll:
I think it's a Rena Heater? Brand new. So it should be ok.
I'm more worried about the power cuts to be honest.... especially if I'm not there at the time, guess there's not alot I can do about that.

I saw a tip once on a tv prog, you might know if it would be any good or not. They suggested filling a plastic bottle (cleaned obviously) with warm/hot water and placing this in the tank. Then refilling it whenever it cools down... ??