Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-29-2005, 02:02 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: South Florida, Miramar
Posts: 210
Help autotop off float.?

Setting up a auto top off.......need some ideas on how to run the return line...pictures would help...Thanks
__________________

__________________
39 Gal Tank /w custom stand
AquaC Remora Protein Skimmer
36" 192W Dual Strip Compact
3-Maxi-Jet 1200.../w wavemaker
60 lbs CaribSea Aragamax
50 lbs Keys Rock (liverocks.com)
DIY Sump / Fuge 15 gal
bckane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2005, 03:38 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
BillyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Western NY
Posts: 4,064
check out our DIY section, you should find some good examples, including pics )
__________________

__________________
Acronyms and Abbreviations
BillyZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2005, 11:16 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: South Florida, Miramar
Posts: 210
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyZ
check out our DIY section, you should find some good examples, including pics )
didnt see anything there....thats why I asked
__________________
39 Gal Tank /w custom stand
AquaC Remora Protein Skimmer
36" 192W Dual Strip Compact
3-Maxi-Jet 1200.../w wavemaker
60 lbs CaribSea Aragamax
50 lbs Keys Rock (liverocks.com)
DIY Sump / Fuge 15 gal
bckane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2005, 11:27 PM   #4
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
What return line? From the top off container to the tank or sump? If so plumb it any way that looks good.

I have a 25 gal container that has my top of water in it. There is a pump inside that has some vinyl tubing that runs into a section of the sump. When the float is low it triggers the pump to put water in the sump.

Having a sump makes this easier but it could be done in the tank as well. Looks are more important there.

Any specific questions? What type of setup do you have?
__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2005, 01:55 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: South Florida, Miramar
Posts: 210
Quote:
Originally Posted by ellisz
What return line? From the top off container to the tank or sump? If so plumb it any way that looks good.

I have a 25 gal container that has my top of water in it. There is a pump inside that has some vinyl tubing that runs into a section of the sump. When the float is low it triggers the pump to put water in the sump.

Having a sump makes this easier but it could be done in the tank as well. Looks are more important there.

Any specific questions? What type of setup do you have?
Im using A 30 gal container for my top off water I have the pump and float
from AutoTopoff.com.....I know how the system works just looking for a idea on how to run the line back to the tank from the container...something that looks good I guess I will just have to play around with it
__________________
39 Gal Tank /w custom stand
AquaC Remora Protein Skimmer
36" 192W Dual Strip Compact
3-Maxi-Jet 1200.../w wavemaker
60 lbs CaribSea Aragamax
50 lbs Keys Rock (liverocks.com)
DIY Sump / Fuge 15 gal
bckane is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
oto

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why do frogs float? vcorey04 Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 15 12-21-2008 12:40 PM
When did hornworth float? flip_lx Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 6 04-18-2007 05:55 PM
Mag Float zacdl Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 4 03-20-2005 09:34 PM
Looking for a float valve Spoon Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 06-02-2004 02:07 PM
Float Switch? d9hp DIY Projects 5 05-24-2003 10:25 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.