Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-02-2011, 07:37 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: TX
Posts: 77
help with canister filter PLEASE

HI, I have been in process of setting up 100 gal tank... sand is in, water has been in for days and I have had nothing but trouble getting filter to work. I have a Cascade 1000 canister filter. Due to me hooking things up wrong first go around..I cut hose to short. I bought some vinyl tubing from Ace hardware to replace. I only had to replace the in hose. The tubing is much thicker and harder than original but it fits. I have primed and primed and waited. I have filled the filter up with tank water manually as well. Question on filter IN and OUT.. Is "IN" water going in to filter and OUT water going out of filter or vise versa?? when I prime I can see my clear replacement hose on the in valve filling up from filter. Makes me think I have it backwards. UGH From cutting hose too short to one of my glass top lids falling it and a piece breaking off, I am frustrated! I have called Penn-Plax a few times and only get a recording. Thank You
__________________

__________________
heathers_hounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 08:13 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Obsessed
 
Mumma.of.two's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sunny Queensland, Australia
Posts: 11,132
Quote:
Originally Posted by fireflygirl
HI, I have been in process of setting up 100 gal tank... sand is in, water has been in for days and I have had nothing but trouble getting filter to work. I have a Cascade 1000 canister filter. Due to me hooking things up wrong first go around..I cut hose to short. I bought some vinyl tubing from Ace hardware to replace. I only had to replace the in hose. The tubing is much thicker and harder than original but it fits. I have primed and primed and waited. I have filled the filter up with tank water manually as well. Question on filter IN and OUT.. Is "IN" water going in to filter and OUT water going out of filter or vise versa?? when I prime I can see my clear replacement hose on the in valve filling up from filter. Makes me think I have it backwards. UGH From cutting hose too short to one of my glass top lids falling it and a piece breaking off, I am frustrated! I have called Penn-Plax a few times and only get a recording. Thank You
Not sure with your filter but with mine IN is where the water enters the filter and OUT is where it exits.
__________________

Mumma.of.two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 09:31 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: mason City, iowa
Posts: 552
The hoses and valves are colored, blue is intake and black is exhaust (out), once hooked up open both control levers, prime the filter, have to press hard until you heard water filling the canister. Wait a minute and plug in! I have to same canister. :0
__________________
ocean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 10:11 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: TX
Posts: 77
Thank you. My hoses were both black. Valves are colored with a blue one and black one. wather is rising in the hose I have connected to the in valve, You would think it would be draining from tank into filter. I have sucked on the hose that puts water out into aquarium till water came out and nothing. I don't think it is sucking water from tank, It def isn't putting out through spay bar. Idk what else to do. the filter is full of water.
__________________
heathers_hounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 10:29 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: mason City, iowa
Posts: 552
Quote:
Originally Posted by fireflygirl
Thank you. My hoses were both black. Valves are colored with a blue one and black one. wather is rising in the hose I have connected to the in valve, You would think it would be draining from tank into filter. I have sucked on the hose that puts water out into aquarium till water came out and nothing. I don't think it is sucking water from tank, It def isn't putting out through spay bar. Idk what else to do. the filter is full of water.
Take a look at your valves that screw on to the motor unit. Make sure the blue in connected to the blue in port and the black to black port. And check to make sure the the hoses with the blue and black rings match up with the blue and black ports. Are both flow levers open all the way? Empty the filter and start over and see what happens. Here's a picture of my filter.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20111102_202840.jpg
Views:	90
Size:	57.4 KB
ID:	59264  
__________________
ocean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 10:35 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: mason City, iowa
Posts: 552
It sounds like a hose isn't hooked up right. The spray bar also should have the blue ring on it and the filter tube/intake should have the black ring on it. Wish I could be more help, but I can't think of any thing else!
__________________
ocean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 10:40 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: mason City, iowa
Posts: 552
By the way what broke off? Can you post a picture? That could be your problem. In that case you may need to order a new part. I'm quessing here...
__________________
ocean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2011, 12:00 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: TX
Posts: 77
My glass top fell in tank and cracked a piece off...I'm posting pics of my set up clear hose on blue valve is connected to filter intake , black hose with black valve is connected to spray bar
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN9173.jpg
Views:	83
Size:	231.5 KB
ID:	59272   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN9174.jpg
Views:	97
Size:	223.4 KB
ID:	59273  

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN9175.jpg
Views:	87
Size:	238.5 KB
ID:	59274   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN9176.jpg
Views:	87
Size:	205.2 KB
ID:	59275  

__________________
heathers_hounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2011, 12:21 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: TX
Posts: 77
Ok I'm thinking I'm missing a piece! A connector that goes from top media basket with seal ring. ?? There is no connector piece. There is a white rubber like seal. There is a small tube like piece coming off of motor but nothing I had to install as shown in directions
__________________
heathers_hounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2011, 04:52 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: mason City, iowa
Posts: 552
Quote:
Originally Posted by fireflygirl
Ok I'm thinking I'm missing a piece! A connector that goes from top media basket with seal ring. ?? There is no connector piece. There is a white rubber like seal. There is a small tube like piece coming off of motor but nothing I had to install as shown in directions
There isn't a connector piece, I was confused when I saw the picture to! Just the rubber seal that fits on the motor on to the media basket.

Have you tried taking the propeller out and resetting it? When you plug the filter in does it make any kind of start up noise?

From your pictures I can't see what piece got broke.
__________________
ocean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2011, 05:12 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: TX
Posts: 77
OK. That's good to know. I took the propeller out and back in, I tried to turn it and it did some but it then felt as if I might break it if I kept turning, so I left it alone. Nothing on the filter got broke, I was ranting about during trying to get this going my glass lid fell in tank and cracked a piece off of it..could have been worse! I have worked on this a little each day..I could hear something at one point. I could hear water coming in, bubbles and then a sound as though maybe something was working but nothing. At one point filter was running kind of loud. Now I can hear a slight noise when on but nothing else even after priming. When I prime water comes out of spray bar and then through the filter hose when I pump it drains into filter and then starts rising back up hose. Thank you for taking the time to help out!
__________________
heathers_hounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2011, 05:36 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: mason City, iowa
Posts: 552
This is a stupid question on my part but after you prime the filter and wait a minute did you plug in the filter? After I cleaned my filter one time, and being in a hurry, I couldn't figure out why my filter wouldn't start, forgot to plug it in! Lol

Sorry I couldn't have been helpful. Let me know if you get the darn thing running!
__________________
ocean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2011, 07:07 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: TX
Posts: 77
lol yes I plugged it in. I got a reply back from Penn-Plax. She suggested I unplug, close both valves and prime a few times, plug in and let run 2-3 min with valves closed then open valves and should start filtering. It didn't work for me but may help someone else someday. She confirmed what you said about not having a connector piece to install. Use to there was but now comes attached already. My white rubber seal ring is torn and looks aged(even though it's never been used), I let them know that and her response was send it to us and we will replace it. That's great, seeing how I purchased the filter over 3 yrs ago with tank and am just now taking out of box to set up due to flooring issues. I just hate the fact I have to wait longer. I'm wondering how this will effect my water. It has already been sitting over a week with no filtration. I almost want to ask if I can just go ahead and upgrade and pay difference for a larger filter(now that I have done my research and realize it's better to go bigger)! Thanks so much for your responses!
__________________
heathers_hounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2011, 08:01 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Oxford,England
Posts: 1,384
when I had a problem with an old cannister priming I just sucked the hose connected to the spray bar until water came out of it then pluged it in.I later found the filter was too low below the water level.but it ran
__________________
Old Chinese proverb:
Don't go to bed with ichy bum
wake up with smelly finger!!
David S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2011, 09:31 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: mason City, iowa
Posts: 552
Quote:
Originally Posted by fireflygirl
lol yes I plugged it in. I got a reply back from Penn-Plax. She suggested I unplug, close both valves and prime a few times, plug in and let run 2-3 min with valves closed then open valves and should start filtering. It didn't work for me but may help someone else someday. She confirmed what you said about not having a connector piece to install. Use to there was but now comes attached already. My white rubber seal ring is torn and looks aged(even though it's never been used), I let them know that and her response was send it to us and we will replace it. That's great, seeing how I purchased the filter over 3 yrs ago with tank and am just now taking out of box to set up due to flooring issues. I just hate the fact I have to wait longer. I'm wondering how this will effect my water. It has already been sitting over a week with no filtration. I almost want to ask if I can just go ahead and upgrade and pay difference for a larger filter(now that I have done my research and realize it's better to go bigger)! Thanks so much for your responses!
Do you have a powerhead or HOB filter you can use until you get your canister? Now would be a great time to start. your fishless cycle! Otherwise I would probably drain the tank and wait for the canister to arrive. What's a few more days waiting after waiting three years! Lol

I have the 1000 canister on my my 40 gallon breeder plus a HOB filter rated for a 50 gal tank! Might be a good idea to upgrade to a larger one, or buy another and have two running on your tank.

Don't throw your old canister away....just in case you need a hose ( cut to short) !

let me know when you have your filter and the tank is up and running, pictures please!! Lol
__________________
ocean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2011, 02:26 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: TX
Posts: 77
To David- I tried sucking on that hose till I got water, it never started flowing. I also have wondered about the placement of filter. I have never used the canister type so thought it must be right if that's what comes with it, but my filter intake is only a few inches from bottom of tank. tank height is almost 18 inches and the filter intake sits about prob 4-5 inches from bottom.

To ocean I know, I know about what's another week after waiting so long!lol only thing is, I purchased tahitian moon sand that is aquarium ready so I really don't want to drain the water. I am going to see if I can get my powerhead or smaller filter running on it for now. I def will post pics later
__________________
heathers_hounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2011, 03:02 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Oxford,England
Posts: 1,384
the only other thing I can think of is to remove the impellor and shaft from the housing,check for any abnormalities,clean and put back,you should be able to spin the impellor when in place,if you cant you may need to replace it.Hopefully the pump has never been pluged in without the impellor in place!!
__________________
Old Chinese proverb:
Don't go to bed with ichy bum
wake up with smelly finger!!
David S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2011, 06:14 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Retired_AF's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Gastonia, NC
Posts: 738
You might also want to take another look at the impeller. I had an issue with one where the propeller part was attached to the shaft with a ceramic piece that broke when I reinstalled it. I could turn the blades completely around. Of course, it wasnt supposed to do that! The ceramic had broken and the magnet was turning, but the blades werent and I had no water flow.

Good luck!
__________________

__________________
Jim
Why do I love fish? Because every time I stare into the little world I have created for them, every problem I have just floats away....
Retired_AF is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
canister, canister filter, filter

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fluval 305 Canister Filter Maltimomma Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 01-13-2012 01:07 AM
Are filter pads and sponges necessary for canister filters? edmond General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 10-01-2011 08:55 PM
Canister filter maintainence Polly91 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 10 09-03-2011 08:50 PM
50 gallon canister filter question sobersteve323 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 12 08-12-2011 03:12 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×