Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-22-2013, 06:25 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Aqualady40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Posts: 1,330
Okay I was following along in another DIY co2 thread because me and another member were having the same issue....they have resolved theirs now so I will pick up where I left off on my own thread that I cannot seem to get very much help in here (they got plenty)..maybe I am not popular enough to get help till I achieve my goal...oh well If you have any info that may help feel free to suggest it
__________________

__________________
Current tanks: 55g/ 40B/ 20H/, 5g
If you always do what you've always done, you'll end with the same results
Aqualady40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 12:27 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Aqualady40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Posts: 1,330
Really no one so I guess since I am not well known then I won't receive any help well anywho I will keep posting my troubles its been over 12 hours since I made sure there were no leaks, I did not have to release any pressure I already had built up. Is there a way I can tell if my generator should be re-did?
__________________

__________________
Current tanks: 55g/ 40B/ 20H/, 5g
If you always do what you've always done, you'll end with the same results
Aqualady40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 01:36 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Aqualady40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Posts: 1,330
Okay I redid my whole system and bought new air pump tubing....all was good an hour later I begin to see a bubble every so often and the generator is bubbly......I went to check on it a few hours later and all my water was gone out of my fluval bubble counter, why? what caused that?
__________________
Current tanks: 55g/ 40B/ 20H/, 5g
If you always do what you've always done, you'll end with the same results
Aqualady40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 05:21 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Brian_Nano12g's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Arizona
Posts: 6,146
You know mine did the same thing on my first run with DIY CO2. I shook the reactor to get the bubbles really flowing and several minute later, the water refilled the bubble counter and a lot of co2 started coming out the diffuser. I'm assuming the water got sucked out of the bubble counter with some siphoning pressure equalization mumbo-jumbo that's beyond my pay grade to explain. But I've only experienced that on the first try.. when I remix my recipe, I don't see that anymore. However, the water gets sucked out of that bubble counter when I unscrew the cap on the generator when I'm changing the mixture again. I just refill with water and screw back on... repeat the process every 2 weeks.
__________________
- [ADA 60P] - [ADA 60F] - [GLA 6g] - [26g] - [2.1g Cube]
Brian_Nano12g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 12:30 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Aqualady40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Posts: 1,330
Okay, I refilled the counter last night and for some odd reason NOTHING is happening this morning (almost 12 hours) I did not take anything apart except the bubble counter and the generator is really bubbly but by now pressure should have built up...I just did another leak check no leaks (did with soap and water) so whats going on...starting to get frustrated....I been at this about 4 weeks now:-(
__________________
Current tanks: 55g/ 40B/ 20H/, 5g
If you always do what you've always done, you'll end with the same results
Aqualady40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 02:12 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Brian_Nano12g's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Arizona
Posts: 6,146
Well by taking the cap off the bubble counter and refilling with water, you just released any potential pressure that was built up. The "whole" system relies on pressure.

Once you made sure that there are no leaks, refill your generator with the sugar/yeast/baking soda mix, tighten up all the caps, and set it and forget it...

Follow this recipe carefully. Also make sure you're following the mixing instructions like activated the yeast in a bowl of warm water with some sugar in it and to use a fork to oxygenate the water... Its all there, just follow the instructions.

http://www.aquatic-eden.com/2006/09/...nsity.html?m=1

After leaks are checked, recipe followed closely, and everything is screwed on tight... Exercise PATIENCE by NOT opening up your system from any point. You can shake the mix a little half way to get the bubbles really pumping. If you past 24 hours and still nothing, then I'd be concern with either leaks, bad yeast, or something in the instructions you're overlooking.
__________________
- [ADA 60P] - [ADA 60F] - [GLA 6g] - [26g] - [2.1g Cube]
Brian_Nano12g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 02:17 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Brian_Nano12g's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Arizona
Posts: 6,146
And is there any reason why you're using a ketchup bottle for the generator? Most people use a 2 liter bottle. I use a 1 liter smartwater bottle but i just 1/2 the recipe because that's based on 2 liters.
__________________
- [ADA 60P] - [ADA 60F] - [GLA 6g] - [26g] - [2.1g Cube]
Brian_Nano12g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 04:31 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Aqualady40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Posts: 1,330
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian_Nano12g View Post
And is there any reason why you're using a ketchup bottle for the generator? Most people use a 2 liter bottle. I use a 1 liter smartwater bottle but i just 1/2 the recipe because that's based on 2 liters.
Yesterday, I purchased a 2-liter bottle ( ketchup bottle no longer have in use) and fresh name brand fleischmann's active dry yeast and C&H pure cain sugar (IDK if brand mattered just thought since I wan't getting anywhere to try everything I could think of).

Okay I shook bottle a little which made water go up my line from the bubble counter into the generator.... now water is in my line
Should the bubble counter (bc) be level with generator, higher, lower or does it matter? Should bottle be in a warm environment/ Mine is on the floor and of course we all know heat rise to top so floor is cooler (it is carpeted)....
__________________
Current tanks: 55g/ 40B/ 20H/, 5g
If you always do what you've always done, you'll end with the same results
Aqualady40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 04:52 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Brian_Nano12g's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Arizona
Posts: 6,146
I'm not sure if BC placement matters on a DIY application. Mine is pretty much level with the generator. Mine sits on the floor as well. Average ambient temperature in my house is 65F.

Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20130124_135043.jpg
Views:	51
Size:	61.1 KB
ID:	146814

Disclaimer: I've seen a ton of variations of DIY so by no means my way is the only way. Luckily, this was my first attempt and it works.
__________________
- [ADA 60P] - [ADA 60F] - [GLA 6g] - [26g] - [2.1g Cube]
Brian_Nano12g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 10:35 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Aqualady40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Posts: 1,330
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian_Nano12g View Post
I'm not sure if BC placement matters on a DIY application. Mine is pretty much level with the generator. Mine sits on the floor as well. Average ambient temperature in my house is 65F.

Attachment 146814

Disclaimer: I've seen a ton of variations of DIY so by no means my way is the only way. Luckily, this was my first attempt and it works.
On the bc, am I suppose to screw that piece over the tubes? I did just want to make sure
__________________

__________________
Current tanks: 55g/ 40B/ 20H/, 5g
If you always do what you've always done, you'll end with the same results
Aqualady40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
co2, diy, diy co2

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.