Help with filter media for eheim 2215

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Mcgolg76

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Just bought a 75g aquarium on Craig's list. Came with an eheim 2215 cannister. I have never used a cannister before and am confused about the different types of filter media it came with. Can some body help me with what they are and what order to place it.

Attachments

• image-692643594.jpg
    image-692643594.jpg
    134.8 KB · Views: 69
The top left sponge goes in a ring that sits on the very top of the filter baskets. Then the sponges go from the coarsest on the bottom getting finer the further up it goes. I would put the ceramic rings at the top so they don't collect crud but they can really go anywhere.

The blue top left sponge actually looks like its been cut. I cant see the 2215s media being any different to the 2217 and the 2213 which i own. Looks to me like he may have cut a ring out to fill with bio rings. I dont know why he would do this though. The white floss would go at the very top for water polishing. Those other sponges look black? If so theyre carbon and if theyve been used id throw them out as they will no longer be active. If not and theyre sponges, give them a good wash!

Ty. And noise went away. I stuffed an extra filter from my penguin 150 in their hoping that will help me cycle faster. Should i just stuff it anywhere in the filter or should i put in specific spot?

I just didn't have one of valves turned right. Now more quiet then filters in my other tank.

That blue sponge is the exact same one that my eheim filter has. It has it's own basket that sits on top and acts sort of like a pre filter.

I would put it after the first sponge at the bottom so that the water will be drawn up through the established media youve added and then through the 2215s media youre trying to colonize.