Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
Old 01-08-2008, 08:44 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Help with lighting for a newbie please

I have been doing a lot of research on lighting. I am completely new to the hobby and know almost nothing. I have a 90 gallon tank already and want to do a reef tank. After looking at others reef tanks I talked to a member on here and I loved his tank. He was kind enough to point me in the right direction. He told me what I would need to mimic his lighting and this is what he suggest to get the look and to support the corals I wanted.

dual 250w MHs, Dual 110w VHO Actinics and 2x54w T5 HO Ultra Blues

Now my question is. Can I use something like whats in the link I have listed below and just add the T5 HO Ultra Blues to it and achieve the same look? Are the PC lights going to give me a lot different look than the VHO Actinics?

I guess I don't know enough about lighing to know the difference between the VHO and PC lighting and the look they will give me.

dheck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2008, 09:16 AM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Wow, I like the design of that fixture and the price seems really low. The MH will provide your "daylight" and the Actinics will provide your blue spectrum. Other than it not having a name brand, that I could see, you may want to wait for others, who have that same fixture to chime in. I have found lighting is not one place you want to go cheap....

Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Acronym List

roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote