Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-29-2013, 01:05 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Shon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Wichita, ks
Posts: 89
Help with new filter setup on 90gal

Hello,
I am setting up a 90 gallon for my two tiger oscars one is 3" the other is round 4˝" and 4" pleco. I bought a API Filstar xP3 canister filter for 175gal 350gph. It has three media compartments. What would be the best way to move them from the little 10gal they came in (they was a gift the person bought them as babies and had no idea bout them). The filter in the ten is a cheapo tetra whisper 10i. I am filling the tank today and need advice on the best way to cycle this BIG tank. Can I pour the carbon out the tetra filter and put just the filter part without carbon (the sleeve) with my bb in a media tray and if so what one? Sorry never hooked up a canister filter my biggest tank was a 29L.

keeping fish since january
__________________

__________________
Shon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 11:53 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ian086's Avatar


 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Drogheda, Ireland
Posts: 3,096
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shon View Post
Hello,
I am setting up a 90 gallon for my two tiger oscars one is 3" the other is round 4˝" and 4" pleco. I bought a API Filstar xP3 canister filter for 175gal 350gph. It has three media compartments. What would be the best way to move them from the little 10gal they came in (they was a gift the person bought them as babies and had no idea bout them). The filter in the ten is a cheapo tetra whisper 10i. I am filling the tank today and need advice on the best way to cycle this BIG tank. Can I pour the carbon out the tetra filter and put just the filter part without carbon (the sleeve) with my bb in a media tray and if so what one? Sorry never hooked up a canister filter my biggest tank was a 29L.

keeping fish since january
Hey Shon, yeah you could ditch the carbon. BB doesn't grow on it. Keep the filter part and any gunk from the old filter and put it in with the rings/noodles/balls tray. This should transfer BB to the new media. Leave it in there for a few weeks, it won't do any harm.
For your canister layout, this is how I do mine; from the bottom up,
1. Sponges-Course/Medium
2. Bio Media-Balls/Noodles/Rings
3. Filter Floss(polyfil), widely available from hobby/craft stores. Very cheap and very effective.
4. On top of the floss, a 100ml bag of Purigen.
With this set-up, you will have sparkling water!!
PS...Remember to keep up with the water tests on the new tank....
__________________

__________________
Ian086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 11:57 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ian086's Avatar


 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Drogheda, Ireland
Posts: 3,096
Sorry, meant to add. Remember to keep everything wet, with old tank water, when transferring anything from the old tank.....
__________________
Ian086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter, new filter, setup

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.