Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-05-2007, 08:26 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,066
Send a message via Yahoo to vsnsofadrgn
HELP with sump please

sump is making ALOT of noise. its the water goin into the overflow box. its gurgling. plus its goin in sections, not a continuous flow. how do i fix it? ( i know i need baffles, just wanted to make sure i had the plumbing right) the pump seems to be a bit overrated for the overflow box, will getting a lower rated pump help?
__________________

__________________
visions of a dragon

hope dies last
vsnsofadrgn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2007, 09:25 PM   #2
SW REEF 20+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,578
Moved to hardware and equipment discussion.
__________________

__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2007, 10:14 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 328
One way to reduce noise is to put a cover on the stand pipe.
Keep the pump flow continuous, but not too high or too low.
__________________
---
75 Gallon
Rena FilStar xP3, Aquarium Systems Visi-Therm 200W (2), Coralife 48" Aqualight 260W 6700K
---
10 Gallon Hexagon
Hagen AquaClear 30, Visi-Therm Deluxe 50, DIY CF 20W 6500K CF, Hagen Natural CO2 System :: Bloodfin Tetra (1), Red-eye Tetra (3), Black Skirt Tetra (3), Harlequin Rasbora (6), Platy (1), Otocinclus Catfish (1) :: Rotala Indica, Hygrophila Difformis (Wisteria), Cabomba Carolinia
---
tropicalfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2007, 11:12 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
Can you get a closer shot of your overflow box? I have 90 elbows on both of my standpipes and that reduces the noise. I can't tell from the picture that you have what exaclty is going on int you overflow box. Do you have 2 U-tubes in that box? What GPH is that pump rated for? What GHP is the overflow rated for. From the pics it looks like a 600gph overflow.
__________________
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2007, 09:07 AM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
If you have seen the modified stockman or Durso overflows, you will see that they have a hole at the top that can be adjusted. This prevents a full siphon vacuum from forming and causing the flushing. Check this site out to see how they made their own Durso pipes with the air hole break that fits in most overflows.
__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2007, 09:22 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,066
Send a message via Yahoo to vsnsofadrgn
the flushing is real annoying!! lol. thats an easy mod to do, thanks for the link.

the overflow is rated for 600 gph, and there are 2 tubes in that picture (bf did it to try to compensate for the flushing sound and so it could catch up with the pump). all thats goin into the overflow is the siphon tubing and the foam over the pvc. the pump is rated at 780 gph, i was trying to allow for the 4 ft head. i would like to see if the overflow wasnt doin that flushing if maybe it could keep up. is that possible?

i will do the mod with the pvc. does it sound like i need to get the 581 gph rated pump?? i got it from drfostersmith, so if i exchange it ill have to wait another 2 weeks, .
__________________
visions of a dragon

hope dies last
vsnsofadrgn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2007, 09:32 AM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
I didn't notice a ball valve in line with the return. No need to get a small pump IMO, just reducing the flow slightly could solve your gurgling issues without having to adjust your overflow.
__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2007, 10:42 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,066
Send a message via Yahoo to vsnsofadrgn
ball valve???? where can i get one? how do i put it in?

is that how i reduce the flow? ive read that the mag's can be turned down a bit, ive got a quiet one, can it be done? that would sure save some time.

EDIT: http://www.drsfostersmith.com/produc...pc=1&N=0&Nty=1 i think i get it, put this in the return line and it slows the flow.....
__________________
visions of a dragon

hope dies last
vsnsofadrgn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2007, 12:04 PM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chatsworth, GA
Posts: 4,071
Send a message via Yahoo to loganj
You got it! That will work. Your overflow will probably keep up ok, but it's best not to run them at their full capacity. The reason for this is if you get a partial blockage in a u tube, you may still have enough flow capacity to keep the tank from overflowing. Even algae growth in the u tubes can restrict flow enough to cause a problem if your overflow is maxed out to start with. The Stockman mod should work for you...I don't think you'll have room for a Durso. You can choke the flow on you Quiet 1 pump without hurting it. Remember to always reduce flow on the pressure side of the pump...never on the intake.
__________________
Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.
Logan J
loganj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2007, 12:31 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,066
Send a message via Yahoo to vsnsofadrgn
i guess im off to lowes after work then.. yay tho, i can get this thing goin! im ordering the new skimmer tonight, and hopefully ill have a refugium setup in a month or so!! YAY

ok, i got the ball valve, and drilled some holes in the pvc to the overflow. it def alot less noisy, but still some noise. it still seems to be in sections instead of a continuous flow.

how much flow should i be feeling? to me it doesnt seem like enough, but i dont know what its supposed to be either. i was aiming at twice the volume. 600 gph......

there is alot of air bubbles too, im sure thats due to not having baffles yet, right?
__________________
visions of a dragon

hope dies last
vsnsofadrgn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2007, 10:34 PM   #11
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
try putting a 90 elbow on the standpipe I have elbows on both of my stand pipes and there is virtually no noise at all....
__________________
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2007, 09:07 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,066
Send a message via Yahoo to vsnsofadrgn
is the standpipe the one that is in the overflow box, the pvc?
__________________
visions of a dragon

hope dies last
vsnsofadrgn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2007, 02:55 PM   #13
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
yes
__________________
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2007, 10:06 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,066
Send a message via Yahoo to vsnsofadrgn
how long can i go without adding the baffles? i mean without hurting anything?

i ask only becuase my dad works for a glass co and he can get teh glass and cut it for me for free but he lives a couple of hours away and it will be a couple/few weeks before i can get down there, if i needed to i could pay someone to do it, but if i dont i cant see payin for it!!
__________________
visions of a dragon

hope dies last
vsnsofadrgn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2007, 10:11 AM   #15
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
I'd wait, a few small bubbles are harmless unless you have sponges.
__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2007, 02:37 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,066
Send a message via Yahoo to vsnsofadrgn
i feel like theres alot of airbubbles. the are tiny, but everywhere.
__________________
visions of a dragon

hope dies last
vsnsofadrgn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2007, 02:53 PM   #17
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
I'm sure there is with your current configuration. Putting a 90 degree elbow on the intake of your Mag and placing the drain/return lines on opposite sides of your sump will greatly reduce the bubbles till you can get the baffles installed.



It's more anesthetically appealing to remove them but even a LOT of bubbles is really not that harmful in most cases.
__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2007, 09:22 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,066
Send a message via Yahoo to vsnsofadrgn
ok, well if theres no harm to anything, im alright with waiting. i just wanted to make sure that it didnt hurt anything. free is better than paying!! lol.
__________________
visions of a dragon

hope dies last
vsnsofadrgn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2007, 11:54 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,066
Send a message via Yahoo to vsnsofadrgn
it doesnt seem like theres alot of flow, at least not what i thought there would be. should i take the ball valve out? i think the one i got restricts too much. if i had a sandbed and pointed the flares at it, i dont even think it would blow the sand....
__________________
visions of a dragon

hope dies last
vsnsofadrgn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 09:58 AM   #20
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
Even if you open the valve all the way? The proper sized ball valve shouldn't restrict flow at all if opened all the way.

Since your return is split you are pumping around 280 GPH in each return with the 4ft head which should be enough.
__________________

__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
lost my tank, but back at it now! sump or no sump lower11 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 9 07-10-2007 03:35 PM
Pro Clear Sump - How to put heater in sump & Questions.. TheChad Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 04-14-2006 07:39 PM
adding another sump onto my original sump bingbat General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 01-15-2005 01:00 AM
Whats a sump, A simple sump Mr.Maska Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 12-19-2004 06:51 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×