Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-28-2014, 08:23 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 8
HOB aqueon 50 ex tube in 20g long doesn't fit..what next

title says it all

HOB aqueon 50 extension tube in my 20g long doesn't fit...it touches the bottom and i have a sand tank....what next?

i've read in so many places that this would be a good filter for my 20 gallon long and i didn't see where it said the extension piece would be too long.

right now the extension piece is off and i am cycling through w/ just the first tube w/ an open hole.

what can i do?
__________________

__________________
ididapoopy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2014, 09:18 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 8
just to clarify. i'm taking about my intake tube w/o the second piece which has the slits to let water thorough

what's on there now is open on the bottom only (not on the sides) sucking water. and it's sized at aprox 1" circumference
__________________

__________________
ididapoopy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2014, 09:25 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 18,384
Quote:
Originally Posted by ididapoopy View Post
just to clarify. i'm taking about my intake tube w/o the second piece which has the slits to let water thorough what's on there now is open on the bottom only (not on the sides) sucking water. and it's sized at aprox 1" circumference
cut it! Can you out up a picture?
__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2014, 09:34 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brookster123 View Post
cut it! Can you out up a picture?

i can't cut the 2nd intake piece w/ all the slits because in goes inside the 1st piece that's on. what i'm trying to say is half of it goes inside then it tapers out in size,where the slits are

...seeems like my only option would be to cut 1" off the bottom of it and then somehow attach that piece t othe first one...but there will prolly be a sizing issue..

can i just leave it like it is w/ a 1" round opening sucking up..or will my cory take a ride in the doom tube
__________________
ididapoopy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2014, 10:19 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 18,384
Ohhhh get a pre filter sponge! Problem solved!
__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2014, 10:24 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brookster123 View Post
Ohhhh get a pre filter sponge! Problem solved!
after i posted this did more research. seems like that's what i need to do.

but i would just like to leave it the way it is. do any of you foresee a problem?
__________________
ididapoopy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2014, 10:29 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Affordable Aquatic's Avatar




 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 174
If you shorten it, and there is no reason you shouldnt. Keep the bottom of the tube about 1/3 the way from the bottom of the tank so that you dont suck sand into the filter an have a chance to capture debris floating throughout the tank.
__________________
Visit us online at www.AffordableAquatic.com
Affordable Aquatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2014, 10:39 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 18,384
Quote:
Originally Posted by ididapoopy View Post
after i posted this did more research. seems like that's what i need to do. but i would just like to leave it the way it is. do any of you foresee a problem?
I'd atleast get a mesh sleeve over it, I think leaving the large opening is just inviting Trouble. I have 2 aqueons and I don't see why you can't cut either tubes down to serve your purpose?
__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2014, 10:51 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 8
this might be the ticket to go overmy intake tube. but can i get it in black.

Deep Blue Plain Poly Fiber Pad 18"x30"

seems like quite a few of these things get clogged easily
__________________
ididapoopy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2014, 10:59 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brookster123 View Post
I'd atleast get a mesh sleeve over it, I think leaving the large opening is just inviting Trouble. I have 2 aqueons and I don't see why you can't cut either tubes down to serve your purpose?
the intake tube is in 2 pieces..the 2nd piece is half pipe and half strainer. the strainer (aprox 6/8") and is the male ,,and it extends half way inside the 1st piece female to only show the strainer this is how it's held together...i don't see how it's possible to cut anything other than how i said..and i still don;t know if it will even work..especially if the pieces are the same size or very similar
__________________

__________________
ididapoopy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aqueon, hob, long, tube

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bio cube skimmer doesn't fit Convict2161 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 01-10-2012 09:19 PM
Woospiedoodle - HOB doesn't fit! Rokuzachi General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 04-28-2011 09:10 PM
Please Help- bad substrate, light doesn't fit and glass lid LesPaulPlayer General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 7 02-23-2009 02:06 AM
Aquaclear 70 doesn't fit on new All-Glass aquariums? 20 20 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 8 08-27-2005 02:36 PM
rock doesn't fit goinpostal Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 02-17-2004 07:05 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.