Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-03-2014, 11:44 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict


 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Carpentersville, IL
Posts: 1,524
HoB Dimensions & Suggestions

I've got a 20 gallon, long aquarium that is currently running an internal filter (Fluval U2) that isn't quite cutting it. I'd like to supplement it with a HoB, but I only have approx. 3" of clearance between the back of the tank and the wall. I wont get into why, but I am not able to make the gap any bigger.

The Aqueon Quietflow is looking like my best bet since the impeller is on the part that goes on the inside of the aquarium. However, Im not really sold on their "Bio-Holster" for cultivating BB though, and there's not a whole lot of room for me to add additional biological filtration.

Anybody know if the Fluval C2 will fit or maybe have another suggestion?
__________________

__________________
Coyne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2014, 11:46 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigRedsReefs10's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4,675
You could probably fit an aqua clear 30 or 50 on one of the sides
__________________

__________________
BigRedsReefs10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2014, 12:02 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict


 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Carpentersville, IL
Posts: 1,524
The frame for my light rests on the sides, so Im not able to place a filter on the ends. A canister wont work either because the tank sets very low to the ground.
__________________
Coyne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2014, 12:26 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
icydeath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Folsom, CA
Posts: 1,294
If you want a supplementary filter, you could build a sponge filter.
__________________
icydeath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2014, 01:10 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict


 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Carpentersville, IL
Posts: 1,524
The internal filter provides plenty of biological filtration, but very little flow... which is one of the main issues I have with it (that and it takes up a lot of space). So, the more I think about it, the more Im leaning towards ultimately replacing the internal filter all together. To that end, I am considering the Quietflow (it need less than 2" behind the tank) with a sponge filter for supplementary biological filtration.
I run pressurized CO2 for plants though and am not sure what, if any, impact these will have on my CO2 levels since they both create additional surface agitation.
I don't think I'll need the additional sponge bio-filtration if the C2 is able to fit though.
__________________
Coyne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2014, 01:23 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
icydeath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Folsom, CA
Posts: 1,294
Oh.. flow.. Just get a powerhead and a prefilter on it so it doesn't clog.

Plants don't always need the flow however.

Another filter will not be best for your needs if you just want more current as the surface agitation reduces your CO2 levels a lot.
__________________
icydeath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2014, 02:04 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Fresh2o's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 11,809
3" clearance should work with the C2 and C3: http://www.petsolutions.com/C/Aquari...r-Filters.aspx
__________________
I am an ALGAE farmer.
Terms of Service | Community Rules | FresH2O's Planted Tank | Fresh2o's Shrimp Tank
Fresh2o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2014, 08:41 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict


 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Carpentersville, IL
Posts: 1,524
Thanks Fresh.

That'd would be super close, but at least I have something to go off of.
__________________
Coyne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2014, 08:56 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict


 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Carpentersville, IL
Posts: 1,524
Quote:
Originally Posted by icydeath View Post
Oh.. flow.. Just get a powerhead and a prefilter on it so it doesn't clog.

Plants don't always need the flow however.

Another filter will not be best for your needs if you just want more current as the surface agitation reduces your CO2 levels a lot.
There are also fish in this aquarium and there are additional reasons for wanting to remove the current internal filter.
__________________

__________________
Coyne is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dim, hob, suggestions

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.