Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-04-2010, 12:56 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 16
holes in glass?

Im thinking about drilling ooverflow holes in my glass aquarium...the only catch is that my tank is established (with an eshopps overflow unit-big box) and i dont care to remove everything from the tank...Im curious - have any of you successfully done somthing like this (or at least heard of it being done)...all the examples Ive seen have the tank on its side (so full effect of gravity on drill bit) and use flowing water (to wash away the dust)...I dont plan to attempt withought good knowledge that its worth doing...
__________________

__________________
Leprichon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 02:06 PM   #2
HN1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
HN1's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ga
Posts: 8,169
I wouldn't attempt it personally, nor have I read of anyone drilling a filled tank. I would expect the weight load would increase the liklihood of a small torque which would result in an empty tank sans one pane of glass.
__________________

__________________
Question everything you see on the internet. ~ George Orwell
HN1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 02:15 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oak Forest, IL
Posts: 4,388
I wouldn't try it either. Drilling with all the pressure on the glass is just asking for a disaster.
__________________
BigJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 03:17 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 16
ok...sounds like good advice...thanks...
__________________
Leprichon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 04:35 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Smitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 1,206
+100 Also you would have little tiny shards of glass that could very well end up inside the tank even if drilling from the outside. Who knows if any fish would eat it and do very bad things (or anything else eat it).
__________________
Smitty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 05:33 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Chester-le-Street, UK
Posts: 786
I wouldn't even want to do this while the tank is empty, as you'll have created a point of weakness in the glass so when it's refilled the whole thing may fail.
__________________
135 litre (35 US gallons) 6 Black Widow Tetra; 3 Mollies; 3 Bronze Cory; 1 Pygmy Cory; 6 Gold Barbs
27 litre (7 US gallons) 6 Guppies.
Mark Hewitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 04:17 PM   #7
HN1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
HN1's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ga
Posts: 8,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Hewitt View Post
I wouldn't even want to do this while the tank is empty, as you'll have created a point of weakness in the glass so when it's refilled the whole thing may fail.
Ummmm.... not exactly the way physics work. People drill tanks all the time without issue. Several of ours are and have been fine for years.

The act of drilling is where the risk is, once it's done you are good. Doing it filled is asking for catastrophe though (IMO).
__________________
Question everything you see on the internet. ~ George Orwell
HN1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 05:02 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oak Forest, IL
Posts: 4,388
Technically he's right about weakening the glass. You've increased the pressure on the glass by reducing the area. Fortunately, an aquarium is built with enough factor of safety to handle the increased pressure without issue.
__________________
BigJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 05:34 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Whitestone, Queens, NY
Posts: 592
doesn't the type of glass also determine if it can actually be drilled or not?
__________________
"Never argue with a idiot, they will drag you down to there level then beat you with experience." "One never needs their humor as much a when they argue with a fool."
Andrewz00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 06:51 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oak Forest, IL
Posts: 4,388
Yes. Tempered glass can't be drilled. It shatters into nice little cubes. Unfortunately, I don't know of any way to tell that glass is tempered other than to break it.
__________________

__________________
BigJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
glass, holes

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Glass Holes Kit Zer0 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 13 03-24-2010 06:04 PM
glass-holes 1500gph overflow $75+shipping jrp1588 Archive 0 02-23-2010 06:03 PM
Drilling holes in glass yohann976 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 6 10-01-2009 03:06 PM
Need someone knowledegable about glass and drilling holes Civicman86 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 01-20-2007 06:23 AM
Holes In Leaves Rxblade123 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 10 01-04-2006 10:40 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.