Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-01-2006, 04:41 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 670
House-wide RO filter

The new home I'm building is going to have an RO filter for the entire house.

Does anyone else use one of these, and are there any suggestions/instructions I should give the builder as to how it should be setup? Are these efficient enough to really produce "pure" water? Are they as efficient as the small units (Like the water general system I have now).

I currently have a 100gpd RODI filter with a 3G tank and was planning on using it in the new home until I found out about this.
__________________

__________________
Scoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2006, 08:28 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
If a new house and opportunity exists, maybe consider a whole house water softener too. Clothes are whiter, we use less soap, less dry skin (removes chlorine), and it just plain old tastes better without the chlorine. We love ours. Just gotta replace those salt blocks (every 2 months maybe) and flush it weekly. No big deal. Still had phosphates.

Then, I use the RO/DI after that for the reef tank. No phosphates there, but we do rely on the whole house system and the fridge filter for drinking and cooking.

Is your water source maybe that bad to consider RO/DIing the whole house?
__________________

__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2006, 08:47 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 670
There is a water softener too in the package. Of course, I'm guessing that we wouldn't want the softener to be feeding my own smaller RO/DI system?

Our water in Omaha runs around 350-400ppm solids (according to my meter on my RODI system). The builder installs an RO system by default.
__________________
180G build thread

180G All-glass with dual megaflows in a custom stand
AquaC EV-180 skimmer
250 pounds LR
160 pounds aragonite
Custom acrylic sump from GlassCages.com
2xPCX-40 return pumps
2x250MH 14K, 2x175MH 14K - PFO lighting, 2x65W PC
No-name 36W UV
Water General 125GPH RO/DI
Filstar XP3
Scoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2006, 09:25 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Zagz's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 17,108
Send a message via MSN to Zagz
Moved to General Hardware/Equipment.
__________________
AA Community Rules | AA TOS

-----------
Site Administrator
Zagz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2006, 10:34 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 670
Yeah - sure to get lots of help down here, with a whopping 759 topics.

This setup is for a reef tank. Isn't it appropriate for the reef forum?

Otherwise I might as well go ask on another forum where it might get noticed.
__________________
180G build thread

180G All-glass with dual megaflows in a custom stand
AquaC EV-180 skimmer
250 pounds LR
160 pounds aragonite
Custom acrylic sump from GlassCages.com
2xPCX-40 return pumps
2x250MH 14K, 2x175MH 14K - PFO lighting, 2x65W PC
No-name 36W UV
Water General 125GPH RO/DI
Filstar XP3
Scoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2006, 11:09 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Indiana
Posts: 477
RO for an entire house is just a wast of resources. Are you really wanting to use RO water for laundry, dishes, watering the lawn, showers, etc...? I think a softner would be the way to go for most water needs and save the RO for the tanks, etc...
__________________
Lepomis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2006, 11:19 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: East Windsor, NJ
Posts: 254
Not to mention all the water you would flush down the drain so you could flush the toilet with ro water.
I agree with lepomis ro for entire house wastes to much water.
__________________
EJS4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2006, 01:34 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 670
Its not my idea - the home builder is doing it in all his new homes (in the $1 million plus range). I've seen his unit - its massive, about 3 feet tall. Its part of the plumbing package, and isn't really costing that much.

I think the RO unit is stricly feeding drinking water sources - probably not for showers/baths/etc. There is also a water softener that will probably feed those areas.

I'll ask about this. I know RO systems drain waste water, I don't want to be paying for all that, plus, its just a waste.
__________________
180G build thread

180G All-glass with dual megaflows in a custom stand
AquaC EV-180 skimmer
250 pounds LR
160 pounds aragonite
Custom acrylic sump from GlassCages.com
2xPCX-40 return pumps
2x250MH 14K, 2x175MH 14K - PFO lighting, 2x65W PC
No-name 36W UV
Water General 125GPH RO/DI
Filstar XP3
Scoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2006, 03:06 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 670
Confirmed - the "house" RO system only feeds 3 faucets. Of course I'll use one of these to feed my own RO/DI unit, unless I'm getting 0ppb from the house system.
__________________
180G build thread

180G All-glass with dual megaflows in a custom stand
AquaC EV-180 skimmer
250 pounds LR
160 pounds aragonite
Custom acrylic sump from GlassCages.com
2xPCX-40 return pumps
2x250MH 14K, 2x175MH 14K - PFO lighting, 2x65W PC
No-name 36W UV
Water General 125GPH RO/DI
Filstar XP3
Scoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2007, 11:30 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 670
Turns out I won't be using one of RO feeds for the aquarium water - there isn't enough pressure for one thing, and the water softener system which feeds the rest of the house has a pretty high end carbon filter, which will get TDS down pretty well, and remove chloramines and phosphates. That should still take a big load off my RO/DI system.
__________________

__________________
180G build thread

180G All-glass with dual megaflows in a custom stand
AquaC EV-180 skimmer
250 pounds LR
160 pounds aragonite
Custom acrylic sump from GlassCages.com
2xPCX-40 return pumps
2x250MH 14K, 2x175MH 14K - PFO lighting, 2x65W PC
No-name 36W UV
Water General 125GPH RO/DI
Filstar XP3
Scoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
amano shrimp set up house in filter.. juantoro Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 09-04-2007 03:39 PM
How wide is too wide? fish_4_all DIY Projects 6 07-20-2006 11:48 PM
How wide should a tank be, minimum? Jon1 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 11-07-2004 06:19 PM
Monster House:Under Sea House Todd2 Aquaria Off-Topic 4 11-13-2003 08:41 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.