Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-03-2006, 11:15 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 215
how do you maintain a corner, carbon filter?

I saw someones fry/breeding tank on here and read their article on how they did it and did one myself I put in a corner carbon filter (triangle shaped with the cotton and black and white rock mixture) I never saw these things before but did it for my fry so I don't have to worry about them getting sucked away, lol. How often do you clean or change the media in the filter and any advice would be awesome thanx!
__________________

__________________
cappieBridget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2006, 12:02 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 6,703
activated carbon is only 'activated' for 7 days on average, so ideally it'd be changed at your weekly water change. that's when bag'd carbon for other active filters would be replaced.
__________________

__________________
Former advisor and planted tank geek...life's moved on though.
malkore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2006, 12:55 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 215
how 'bout the floss/cottony stuff?
__________________
cappieBridget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2006, 05:48 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ashland KY
Posts: 1,918
Send a message via Yahoo to tropicfishman
just rinse it well, rub your fingers over it to remove any build up, once it gets really really really bad, replace it, but on the safe side for your fry I would do it every 2 weeks, which isn't bad since there pretty cheap
__________________
I love my clown loaches and red tail shark!!! lol
tropicfishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2006, 05:53 PM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Whitby, Ont,Canada
Posts: 2,755
It would be replaced when dirty. However, if i read this correctly, you are talking about a common box filter that we rarely see any more. Fry can get trapped inside, so it is best to use them without the lids. Our local guppy master used box filters, with stones instead of carbon and no lids over the floss so that the fry could swim in and out of the filter and graze the floss, which will contain some minute organisms. Personally, I think the sponge filters such as the Hydro line by ATI are much easier to use and maintain.
__________________
Join a fish club. Don't have one in your area? Start one.
BillD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2006, 06:09 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 215
How do people use sponges to cover the filter intake? I read people talking about this, but don't know how to do it, what to use, etc.. I have an extra filter to do this to. It's a whisper 2-10 gallon internal HOB filter.
__________________
cappieBridget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2006, 11:01 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Whitby, Ont,Canada
Posts: 2,755
If you take an Aquaclear foam insert, you can slit it or cut an X in it (lengthwise) from one end, part way through, and slip it over the intake of the filter.
__________________
Join a fish club. Don't have one in your area? Start one.
BillD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2006, 11:40 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Lonewolfblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wenatchee, WA
Posts: 8,435
Send a message via ICQ to Lonewolfblue Send a message via Yahoo to Lonewolfblue
Quote:
Originally Posted by cappieBridget
How do people use sponges to cover the filter intake? I read people talking about this, but don't know how to do it, what to use, etc.. I have an extra filter to do this to. It's a whisper 2-10 gallon internal HOB filter.
Here's Felix the Pleco just hanging around, lol.

For a sponge, just use scissors to cut a hole into the sponge big enough to cover the intake. Here's the picture of the one I made for my 75G. Then after you have it so it's a snug fit, then you can trim the sponge to the size and shape you want.

__________________
55G Filstar XP3 - 16" Fire Eel
75G Medium Planted - Filstar XP3 Low Light - Established Feb 2006
Lonewolfblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2006, 11:50 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TomK2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Glen Ellyn, IL
Posts: 2,085
that was probably my webpage you saw the $2 corner filter for the breeding tank. Ya know, I did have a fry or two get caught in the box, and had to release them, all was well after releasing them. It seemed to happen a few weeks after birth, when they get more curious? I didn't use carbon, I used porous biomedia taken from my canister filter, sadwiched between two layers of filter floss, also taken in part from the canister. Never thought of taking the top off once the filter floss assumed its shape... a great idea! You really only need the top on till the top layer of floss "learns" to stay in place.

An equally viable method would be an airstone driven sponge filter. When not in use, the sponge can go over your main tanks intake or run on the airstone in the corner of your main tank, so that it is colonized when the breeding tank is put into service.

Or keep a sponge over the intake of your main tank's filter, then put it on your breeding tanks HOB intake when needed. And you could also seed the HOB with colonized biomedia, and the combination of the colonized sponge and colonized biomedia would most assuredly keep aammonia and nitrite in check.

I forget where I got them, but I think BrianNY posted a link that had the intake sponges. Each sponge came with adapters so that it could be made to fit just about any filter or situation.

Yes, the sponge filters seem to have replaced the corner filters, even at the LFS's. But, the corner filters sure are cheap, and they do work. You actually can get some amazing flow through them with a good airstone, but perhaps you might want to dial it down a bit for fry. And you can have a very neat and clean main tank (because you don't have sponges in it) yet get a fully colonized corner filter up and running in minutes from stuff in your established canister filter. And you can run a corner filter with almost any level of water that is over its top, in case lowering the water level is needed to induce spawning. Hey, its low tech and nostalgic, what's not to like?
__________________
TomK2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2006, 12:05 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TomK2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Glen Ellyn, IL
Posts: 2,085
A-ha! I found them. Hydro sponge pre-filter sponges? scroll down on the link to see the intake adapted ones.

http://www.jehmco.com/PRODUCTS_/FILT...e_filters.html
__________________

__________________
TomK2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
carbon, carbon filter, corner, filter, maintain

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I use lead to weight down corner filter? MrNitrite Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 17 12-11-2009 07:09 PM
carbon in filter? times10 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 02-25-2009 01:38 PM
carbon filter swjunkie Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 08-03-2006 12:09 AM
carbon filter msamsonz28 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 05-21-2005 06:02 PM
How much bubbling from a corner filter? TomK2 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 03-06-2005 04:53 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.