Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-10-2006, 12:29 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Lonewolfblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wenatchee, WA
Posts: 8,435
Send a message via ICQ to Lonewolfblue Send a message via Yahoo to Lonewolfblue
Quote:
Originally Posted by bosk1
Listen to Lunewolfblue in all things! And as far as adjusting the temp before adding the water back in, if you have a removeable thermometer, it is very easy to do. Just note your tank temp., then pop your thermometer out, hold it under your tap, and adjust the temperature of the tap water to get it as close as possible to the tank temp. Once you've got it, reverse your water flow, pour in your water conditioner, and fill 'er up!
hehehe, I like that, lol.......

My hand is my thermometer.
__________________

__________________
55G Filstar XP3 - 16" Fire Eel
75G Medium Planted - Filstar XP3 Low Light - Established Feb 2006
Lonewolfblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2006, 12:35 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Lonewolfblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wenatchee, WA
Posts: 8,435
Send a message via ICQ to Lonewolfblue Send a message via Yahoo to Lonewolfblue
If I'm doing maintenance on both tanks, I use my python. But if I'm only doing one on my 26G, I still just do the 5G bucket. Quicker than unravelling a 75' python, doing the pwc, draining the python, and rolling the 75' python back up. Glad I didn't get the 50' one, as where my 55G is, I only have about 3 extra feet of python left.
__________________

__________________
55G Filstar XP3 - 16" Fire Eel
75G Medium Planted - Filstar XP3 Low Light - Established Feb 2006
Lonewolfblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2006, 12:54 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 520
Send a message via ICQ to Codefox Send a message via AIM to Codefox Send a message via MSN to Codefox Send a message via Yahoo to Codefox
Man I got the 25' one and have plenty of slack. You using the neighbor's sink or something?
__________________
Codefox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2006, 01:12 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Lonewolfblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wenatchee, WA
Posts: 8,435
Send a message via ICQ to Lonewolfblue Send a message via Yahoo to Lonewolfblue
Going from the kitchen sink to the master bedroom, lol. Master bathroom faucet end isn't removable, and it won't fit.
__________________
55G Filstar XP3 - 16" Fire Eel
75G Medium Planted - Filstar XP3 Low Light - Established Feb 2006
Lonewolfblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2006, 09:36 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 504
agreed that DIY python is very doable. I found a "waterbed fill/drain kit" at my hardware store, as well as a 50' garden hose and all the necessary fittings and such for <$30!!!!! Before you buy anything, take a look at your sink threads and assess what you can/will be connecting to.

EDIT: to see some pictures visit
http://www.ernestjohn.com/gallery/v/...ums/?g2_page=5
(2nd and 3rd pictures)
__________________
Ernie

www.ErnestJohn.com
workfortheman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2006, 10:46 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dskidmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Genesee Valley
Posts: 2,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by CGGorman
While there, get a CHEAP 1/2" or 5/8" garden hose (50 footers are common for less than $10).
I thought there was danger of garden hoses being coated with chemicals to repell algae and fungus, and shouldn't be used with an aquarium?
dskidmore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2006, 10:55 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 380
You are correct, dskid. The DIY method is good, but you have to be very careful with the hoses, garden hoses may kill all your fish.

I got my almost new Phyton in a deal with an almost new Eheim filter and cost me almost nothing. It didn't reach the tap so I had to spend the money in some extra hosing, but decided no to take chances and by Phyton extension. JIC!

Great system!
__________________
Gracias amigos!
Big C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2006, 11:27 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dskidmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Genesee Valley
Posts: 2,616
I've ralized how deep my need for a python is since my wrists went bad and couldn't carry more than a gallon at a time. (75 gallon aquarium, constantly maintained 10 gal QT, thinking of adding another 10 gal to system.)

I've been trying to decide if I should just order one or DIY. Started looking into it last week. The biggest thing I'm not sure of is my old kitchen faucet. That snap connect idea appeals to me, if I can get the origional areator off. I might be better off drilling into the basement to connect to the laundry hookup, but then I can't control water temp. (When QT is empty, I can use that to store/preheat cold water, and drip line it down into the display tank, but when QT is occupied, temperature is a bigger issue.)

Anyone have an online supplier of the appropriate plumbing parts? I think this is the wrong season to find pool draining equiptment in the north. If you havn't done it already, it's a bit late.
dskidmore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2006, 11:32 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dskidmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Genesee Valley
Posts: 2,616
Another Python question.

A regular siphon doesn't take long to develop disgusting cultures inside of it. I must imagine that a 50' hose is even harder to drain properly. Does anyone worry about this? Any sterilization schedule recomended?
dskidmore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2006, 11:40 AM   #20
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 393
Send a message via AIM to Bhunsucker
Also are there any issues with the suction power on the 50' hose. I would like to get a python but I would have to have the 50' hose and I'm concerned that there would not be enough suction power to clean my gravel. Can anyone with a 50' python comment on this please?

Thanks
__________________

__________________
----------------------------------
"Fly Low Avoid the Radar"

55Gal FW Aquarium
AquaClear 110/500 Filter

45gal Clarity Plus Aquarium
Wet/Dry DLS Aquatics Filteration System
Bhunsucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
clean, cleaner, python

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Python cleaner sweetness8t5 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 17 06-10-2007 01:53 AM
Why doesn't my python work like it should? Ferret_Friend Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 16 10-08-2006 05:02 PM
Trouble getting Python to work weltmeister Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 05-03-2004 10:45 PM
Python Gravel Cleaner pilotfox01 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 05-12-2003 07:08 PM
Python Gravel Cleaner KP Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 9 01-23-2003 10:34 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.