Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-11-2014, 11:13 PM   #101
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Dmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 273
mr. X if you use the float switch method. The contair could go on the ground. And dont put the end in the water.

Chevy. There is a bulkhead fitting on the float valve. Drill a small hole in the sump where you want your water level. Install the float valve with the float inside the sump.
The lock line (water line/tube) (used in ice makers and water makers.) Inserts in the end of the float switch ( outside the sump)

The lock line is then run to a container thats just above the height of the float valve.

As your water evaperates, the float will drop. When the float drops it opens the water line slowly filling the sump. When the water rises the float goes up and closes the water line.

dino
__________________

__________________
Dmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2014, 11:15 PM   #102
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
chevypride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 333
So basically the float just opens the tube when it falls, and closes it again when it goes up? Seems simple enough. How risky is drilling the sump...?
__________________

__________________
chevypride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2014, 11:32 PM   #103
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Dmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 273
Drilling is easy. Just go soft and easy. If you dont want to drill the sump. You can make a bracket to hang on the side of the sump to hold the float valve.im gonna make one using magnets and acrylic to hold it in place.

dino
__________________
Dmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2014, 05:23 PM   #104
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
chevypride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 333
Would normal blue coloured LED's be able to be used as a moonlight? I haven't priced out actual moonlights yet, but the one LFS that sells sw equipment is crazy expensive... I was thinking I could just add some blue led strip lights, sort of what people put in there cars...
__________________
chevypride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2014, 06:37 PM   #105
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Dmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 273
These will work

dino
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1399930649787.jpg
Views:	51
Size:	58.7 KB
ID:	237035  
__________________
Dmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2014, 07:58 PM   #106
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
You don't need moonlights.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2014, 08:00 PM   #107
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
chevypride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 333
I know I don't need them. But I have T5's right now. And there waaaay to bright to have on at night in such a small living room. So I was mostly going to use them so we can still see the tank at night without burning our retinas :p
__________________
chevypride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2014, 08:05 PM   #108
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
Oh...then moonlights won't allow you to see much of anything. You need something that simulates dusk...That strip that Dmann posted should work for this purpose. Anything really...
Aquarium 440 Actinic Blue Moon Light LED Strip 100 Lumens ft Salt Water Reef | eBay
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2014, 08:08 PM   #109
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
chevypride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 333
Okay. I was hoping I could find blue fluorescent lights and just hang another fixture. But that doesn't seem easy either. I'm still a little scared of buying online, so I'm hoping I can find something similar in a store. Homedepot has white led strips like that. So I want to see if they have blue. Or I might just have to go with white. I just really like the blue at night, it seems more calming.
__________________
chevypride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2014, 08:10 PM   #110
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
chevypride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 333
Do you think ones from a pool store would work (I've seen them online, so I'm just hoping a pool store will have them)? At least there water proof. I've only had water in my tank for a week and I've electrocuted myself twice :p
__________________

__________________
chevypride is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
flow, overflow

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
So... How does my overflow work? aaronalam General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 6 12-31-2011 08:21 AM
DIY overflow and sump with a twist. will it work?? oxidessc DIY Projects 17 06-20-2011 07:22 AM
Corner Overflow vs. Back Overflow BeaglesBuddy General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 09-10-2010 12:21 PM
HOB overflow Box Vs. Internal overflow box FishFrik Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 09-10-2006 12:36 AM
To overflow or not to overflow... RLG2182 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 11 01-04-2005 02:51 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.