Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-13-2014, 12:21 AM   #111
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
chevypride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 333
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1399951196.423482.jpg
Views:	41
Size:	145.7 KB
ID:	237072

Here's the tank so far. All my rock got covered so in uncovering that it got all cloudy again
__________________

__________________
chevypride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2014, 06:46 AM   #112
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
Wouldn't the pool store lights be humungous? You need more rock! 3 or 4 times that amount IMO.
__________________

__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2014, 12:05 PM   #113
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
chevypride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 333
Yeah. That's only 60 pounds. I have 30 more pounds. But I just did that as a base so that it was actually down to the glass before adding sand and was going to add the other stuff on top once the cloudiness went down. And I didn't want to add to much because I'm still hoping for live rock.
__________________
chevypride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2014, 12:58 PM   #114
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
chevypride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 333
Would my sump pump work longer being an inline pump other then being fully submerged? It can be either or, I was thinking maybe I should get some flexi tubing and make a self for the pump.
__________________
chevypride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2014, 02:20 PM   #115
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
chevypride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 333
Any suggestion to get the salt off the glass? I have an algae scarper and it's doing an okay job, but was hoping there was something better.
__________________
chevypride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2014, 07:25 PM   #116
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
It's not salt that's on the glass. it's just sand dust. If that's 60 pounds of rock, I would want another 200. That rock weighs 60 pounds? Wow...it must be dense!

I don't understand what you mean by inline pump. Are you referring to an external pump? If so, you can drill the sump for an external pump, but you can't make it "in line" because most of the hobby pumps are not self priming. External or submerged makes little difference IMO. Pressure and head loss depends on the pump in question and the plumbing. Many of the external pumps are more powerful, but use more electricity as well.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2014, 07:41 PM   #117
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
chevypride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 333
The pump I bought is a fluval sea SP4. It says it can be used as either. And the box said 60 pounds. I guess they could of ripped me off. I never weighed it. Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1400020642.446451.jpg
Views:	40
Size:	157.9 KB
ID:	237139
Here's a picture of it uncover and moved around a bit. I also bought a small piece of live rock. Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1400020746.749130.jpg
Views:	41
Size:	147.0 KB
ID:	237140Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1400020807.683110.jpg
Views:	40
Size:	147.2 KB
ID:	237141
__________________
chevypride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 07:39 AM   #118
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
Reading the pumps description, it can be plumbed outside of the tank or inside, so it does not need to be submerged in water, but the sump will need to be drilled for this to work. You can't just put a hose in the sump and expect it to start pulling water. Submerging this pump or drilling the sump and putting it outside won't make any flow difference. You will pick up a little space in the return area, but that's it.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 12:08 PM   #119
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
chevypride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 333
Yesterday I switched to flexible PVC everyone I talked to had me convinced it was better... We did the first test run and the main tank almost overflowed. The pump does 1300gph, it's a one inch pipe, durso standpipe, and my return is just hard PVC pipe that goes up and over and then some Flexable tubing to actually run it under the water. I didn't use a ball valve (the guy at the store I bought the pump from said I wouldn't need one), and another guy I talked to said his 50 gallon tanks pump pushes 1800gph and he has 1" tubing and no ball valve.

How can I make it drain faster? Could it be that I filled my sump tank with to much water? I had it filled just above the pump but the pump started to suck air after a couple of minutes, so I put a couple more gallons in and that's when it started to overflow.

At least it's quiet as a mouse when it was running (:
__________________
chevypride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2014, 06:43 AM   #120
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
No. filling the sump with more water wouldn't make the display overflow. Can you take a picture of the overflow? In the picture above, it looks like you have 2 standpipes...is this correct?
__________________

__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
flow, overflow

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
So... How does my overflow work? aaronalam General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 6 12-31-2011 08:21 AM
DIY overflow and sump with a twist. will it work?? oxidessc DIY Projects 17 06-20-2011 07:22 AM
Corner Overflow vs. Back Overflow BeaglesBuddy General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 09-10-2010 12:21 PM
HOB overflow Box Vs. Internal overflow box FishFrik Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 09-10-2006 12:36 AM
To overflow or not to overflow... RLG2182 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 11 01-04-2005 02:51 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.