Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-15-2014, 03:03 PM   #121
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
chevypride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 333
The one side is where the water comes into the sump, it has a standpipe.

The other side is where the water returns to the maintank, is a piece of PVC piping with two 90 degree elbows to get it over the overflow glass and then a piece of clear PVC piping to direct the water into the tank.

My phones being stupid and not letting me add photos.

I redid my plumbing yet again, and hope this time it works. It's Flexable PVC, with 2 90 degree turns (it was kinking whenever I tried to move it over) and this one I added a ball valve... So I'm hoping this time it works. I just am going to drain some water from the main tank so that if something goes wrong I have a couple inches to play with before I flood the apartment.
__________________

__________________
chevypride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2014, 08:02 PM   #122
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
Drain some water from the main tank? You mean the display? You can't do that without lowering the height of the overflow boxes. Where did you add the ball valve?
__________________

__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2014, 08:05 PM   #123
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
chevypride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 333
The ball valve is on the pump side. There is ALOT of water in the sump, so I was going to take some water out of the display tank, let the pump start to empty the sump, and then it'll go like normal. I could just siphon out the sump, but the display tank is higher so it's easier.

Good news though, ammonia is at 2.4!
__________________
chevypride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2014, 08:07 PM   #124
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
Oh...i see.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2014, 05:38 PM   #125
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
chevypride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 333
So these are my readings:

Day 3

Nitrate 10
Ammonia 2.4
Nitrite 0

I thought that nitrate shouldn't come until later?

It's been awhile since I cycled my tank, so I might have them confused...
__________________
chevypride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2014, 06:03 PM   #126
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
I wouldn't worry about anything but ammonia for a week or two.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2014, 12:25 AM   #127
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
chevypride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 333
Ammonia is 6.1 or higher (test only goes to 6.1, but it's a bit darker then it)

Nitrite is 1.6

Nitrate is 20

Can I take out the gross rotting fish now?
__________________
chevypride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2014, 08:48 AM   #128
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Sillyfishies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Omaha,Nebraska
Posts: 3,374
For sure
__________________
90g Reef
30g Long Frag Tank
10g Planted
3g Pico Reef
Sillyfishies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2014, 01:00 PM   #129
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
chevypride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 333
So now I just wait right? Ammonia and nitrite to go to zero, and then do a water change to get my nitrates down if there high? I probably don't have to be testing everyday?
__________________
chevypride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2014, 10:29 PM   #130
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Sillyfishies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Omaha,Nebraska
Posts: 3,374
Yes sir
__________________

__________________
90g Reef
30g Long Frag Tank
10g Planted
3g Pico Reef
Sillyfishies is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
flow, overflow

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
So... How does my overflow work? aaronalam General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 6 12-31-2011 08:21 AM
DIY overflow and sump with a twist. will it work?? oxidessc DIY Projects 17 06-20-2011 07:22 AM
Corner Overflow vs. Back Overflow BeaglesBuddy General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 09-10-2010 12:21 PM
HOB overflow Box Vs. Internal overflow box FishFrik Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 09-10-2006 12:36 AM
To overflow or not to overflow... RLG2182 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 11 01-04-2005 02:51 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.