Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-22-2014, 04:33 PM   #131
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
chevypride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 333
*cough* ma'am *cough*

I got my sump to work! Finally! $100 in plumbing later, and three different set ups and boom, I got it.

My intake is gurgling though, not at the display tank, but in the sump. Would a bigger or smaller hole on my durso fix that? If I take the cap off it makes a wicked noise, if I plug it it's silent but drains to fast.. It's not crazy annoying so I don't know if I should complain, my HOB filter on my fw is louder... So maybe I lucked out and got it quiet to start, but if it stopped gurgling it would practically be dead silent... It's like every 5-10 seconds it gets a bubble of air and forces it out and you can hear that. Will it silence down once it runs for a bit longer? (It's been running about 2 hours)
__________________

__________________
chevypride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2014, 06:44 PM   #132
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
chevypride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 333
Ammonia is 3.7
Nitrite is 0.8
Nitrate is between 10-20

It seems like it's cycling to fast..?
__________________

__________________
chevypride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2014, 06:54 PM   #133
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
What do you mean it drains too fast?
Your cycle isn't over until you have no detectable ammonia or nitrite.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2014, 06:55 PM   #134
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
chevypride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 333
Nitrite is 3.3
Nitrate is 50
Ammonia is 2.4

Everything's going good right?
__________________
chevypride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2014, 09:34 AM   #135
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
Yes. your still cycling.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2014, 01:34 PM   #136
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
chevypride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 333
Quick question that has me confused;

My ammonia was barely readable (0.1 maybe)

My nitrite was through the roof (couldn't even read it)

My nitrate was the same as nitrite.

I left for 5 days and when I came back this is my new readings

Ammonia 0
Nitrite 0
Nitrate 20

I've done no water changes, and only 2 top offs, but nitrate stays in when it evaporates though right?

I was expecting very very high nitrates and having to do a massive water change...

What happened to my 110+ nitrate reading?
__________________
chevypride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2014, 04:26 PM   #137
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 329
Do you have a heavily planted tank? What type of nitrate test are you using? Did you follow the test directions to the letter? How old is your nitrate test solution? Could it have expired?
__________________
cfosgate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2014, 04:31 PM   #138
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
chevypride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 333
Nope. No plants. Brand new cycled tank with nothing in it except some base rock and a few pounds of live rock. It's a Hagen test kit. Brand new, and the shop I bought it from was unpacking it when I walked in. The outside said it doesn't expire until 2015 (i think). Followed the directions to a T and tested it twice, also did a 30% water change or so (just guessing) and got the nitrates down to 5. I also tested every day when they were high, so it wouldn't have given me a messed up reading for a week straight.
__________________
chevypride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2014, 07:00 PM   #139
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
Just do your large water change and recheck.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2014, 07:02 PM   #140
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
chevypride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 333
I did a 30% and my readings that were after 3 hours were;

Nitrate 5
Nitrite 0
Ammonia 0

I just find it really strange those nitrates seemed to have disappeared.
__________________

__________________
chevypride is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
flow, overflow

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
So... How does my overflow work? aaronalam General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 6 12-31-2011 08:21 AM
DIY overflow and sump with a twist. will it work?? oxidessc DIY Projects 17 06-20-2011 07:22 AM
Corner Overflow vs. Back Overflow BeaglesBuddy General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 09-10-2010 12:21 PM
HOB overflow Box Vs. Internal overflow box FishFrik Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 09-10-2006 12:36 AM
To overflow or not to overflow... RLG2182 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 11 01-04-2005 02:51 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.