Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-12-2014, 09:42 PM   #31
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
chevypride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 333
How far under the waterline should my intake be?
__________________

__________________
chevypride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2014, 10:23 PM   #32
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
kenny69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 292
The depth of your intake depicts the depth of your water. Well It should anyways.

Sent from my GT-I9305 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
I come from the land down under.....
kenny69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2014, 10:27 PM   #33
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
chevypride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 333
Well my over flow boxes are about an inch or 2 from the top of the tank (over flow box is 21 1/2 inches high), and my sump is 18 inches high. I just am not sure how many inches I should put it under, I don't want a flood if something ever goes wrong.
__________________
chevypride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2014, 09:03 AM   #34
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
Your overflow box will stop water from entering the sump in the event of a power outage. Generally, a couple inches drop is fine. Your overflow box is what dictates the water level in the DT. As for the return, you'll need to drill a hole in it just below the water surface to make a siphon break, so that in the event of a power outage, it doesn't back siphon a ton of water.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2014, 07:33 AM   #35
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Dmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 273
What did you use to makd this rock? It looks like you said cement. Where are you located?

dino
__________________
Dmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2014, 11:54 AM   #36
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
chevypride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 333
I used cement, crushed oyster shells, and salt.

And in Manitoba.
__________________
chevypride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2014, 12:36 PM   #37
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Dmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 273
Itns the cement going to leach phosphates like crazy?

dino
__________________
Dmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2014, 12:39 PM   #38
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
chevypride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 333
That's why you let it soak. Everything leaches out..

Mines sitting in a Rubbermaid container, I do 50% water changes everyday and then 100% once a week. A lot of people will put them in a sac and then stick them in a river or stream and come back to them. Sadly I don't have a river or stream that isn't frozen rock solid.
__________________
chevypride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2014, 12:41 PM   #39
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Dmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 273
Hahaha. I hear ya. Im in fl. So I dont have that problem lol

dino
__________________
Dmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2014, 12:44 PM   #40
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
chevypride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 333
Yeah I'm waiting to make my next batch until Mother Nature learns that's it's April and we don't need anymore snow... And then I'm going to put them in a stream at the farm... Doing water changes is quiet a hassle...

But after soaking them they are a lot harder, and when i pick them up from the water they take quiet awhile to drain, so I'm sure they'll work just fine. I just really wish I could have found white cement.
__________________

__________________
chevypride is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
flow, overflow

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
So... How does my overflow work? aaronalam General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 6 12-31-2011 08:21 AM
DIY overflow and sump with a twist. will it work?? oxidessc DIY Projects 17 06-20-2011 07:22 AM
Corner Overflow vs. Back Overflow BeaglesBuddy General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 09-10-2010 12:21 PM
HOB overflow Box Vs. Internal overflow box FishFrik Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 09-10-2006 12:36 AM
To overflow or not to overflow... RLG2182 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 11 01-04-2005 02:51 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.