Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-19-2014, 07:41 PM   #51
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
chevypride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 333
I don't think you guys understand.

The left side is my drain, with a durso standpipe.

The right side is my return. That goes up and over the overflow glass.

I don't have two drains, I'm using one as a return instead of going outside the tank.
__________________

__________________
chevypride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2014, 07:45 PM   #52
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
nelix10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 468
Ah ic looks good then!
__________________

__________________
nelix10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2014, 10:45 AM   #53
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
Those partitions that are off of the bottom aren't doing anything. You may have microbubbles in the display because you have no bubble trap. I would have them an inch off of the bottom, so water is forced downward to get to the return area.
You definitely don't need a ball valve on the drain side. This will stop almost immediately when the power goes out.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2014, 10:57 AM   #54
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
chevypride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 333
The sump was already designed this way when I bought the tank, so I just worked with what I had. And with all the reading I did, a $5 ball valve just seemed like a good idea, If I want to do anything in the sump, or for some crazy reason have to actually remove the sump, I like the idea of just being able to shut the whole thing down. I know it won't drain if the pump isn't pumping, but I just felt safer having an actual seal to stop it. I also don't think my water flow is going to be significant enough to have to alter the amount of water flow, but since I've never done this before I thought this was another good reason for having one.
__________________
chevypride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2014, 11:02 AM   #55
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
Well, as long as the flow is slow enough to not get micro bubbles in the DT, it should work ok. No interest in a refugium? You have room if you put the skimmer in the first section.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2014, 11:23 AM   #56
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
chevypride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 333
The skimmer doesn't fit in the first section unless I take out one of the panes of glass...
__________________
chevypride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2014, 11:42 AM   #57
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
I would remove the one that's not touching the bottom then. It's not doing anything anyway. It looks like a nice sized refugium if so.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2014, 01:03 PM   #58
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
chevypride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 333
How easy do you think it would be to remove the one pane of glass to accommodate the skimmer an then reseal it lower for a bubble trap? I have aquarium silicone.
__________________
chevypride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2014, 01:15 PM   #59
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Sillyfishies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Omaha,Nebraska
Posts: 3,374
Just razor blade it out and then silicone it back in where needed. Sort of like reselling an aquarium if you've done that before
__________________
90g Reef
30g Long Frag Tank
10g Planted
3g Pico Reef
Sillyfishies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2014, 01:17 PM   #60
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
chevypride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 333
Would I just prob it up with something where I need it?
__________________

__________________
chevypride is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
flow, overflow

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
So... How does my overflow work? aaronalam General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 6 12-31-2011 08:21 AM
DIY overflow and sump with a twist. will it work?? oxidessc DIY Projects 17 06-20-2011 07:22 AM
Corner Overflow vs. Back Overflow BeaglesBuddy General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 09-10-2010 12:21 PM
HOB overflow Box Vs. Internal overflow box FishFrik Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 09-10-2006 12:36 AM
To overflow or not to overflow... RLG2182 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 11 01-04-2005 02:51 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.