Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-26-2015, 10:24 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
ExoticAquarist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 659
How long does it take for filter media to "season"?

Title pretty much says it all. IM setting up a new 10 gallon and have some filter fleece shoved into the filter on my established 29 gallon, and it has been there for about 12 hours. Once again, title says it all.


~ExoticAquarist, signing out
__________________

__________________
ExoticAquarist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2015, 10:34 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ImACoolguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 7,954
Around 2-3 weeks for a substantial colony to be made.


Caleb
__________________

__________________
ImACoolguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2015, 10:48 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
ExoticAquarist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 659
Quote:
Originally Posted by ImACoolguy View Post
Around 2-3 weeks for a substantial colony to be made.


Caleb

Thank you Caleb. Just sorta wanted the new 10g to be pre-cycled.


~ExoticAquarist, signing out
__________________
ExoticAquarist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2015, 10:48 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
ExoticAquarist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 659
But since I'm setting it up today it would probably take just as long for the tank to cycle.


~ExoticAquarist, signing out
__________________
ExoticAquarist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2015, 11:06 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ImACoolguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 7,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by ExoticAquarist View Post
But since I'm setting it up today it would probably take just as long for the tank to cycle.


~ExoticAquarist, signing out

Cycling from scratch can take 2 months or more. It's faster nonetheless


Caleb
__________________
ImACoolguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2015, 11:51 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
ExoticAquarist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 659
Quote:
Originally Posted by ImACoolguy View Post
Cycling from scratch can take 2 months or more. It's faster nonetheless


Caleb

For a 10 gallon? It usually takes faster for a tank the size of my 10.


~ExoticAquarist, signing out
__________________

__________________
ExoticAquarist is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter, filter media, long, media, sea

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How long does it take for a filter pad to build up bb philipraposo198 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 08-16-2014 08:59 PM
How long does it take for beneficial bacteria to grow on filter media? trickshot3102 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 28 01-11-2014 11:29 PM
110 gallon LONG (60"x18"x24") versus 110 gallon TALL (48"x18"x30") Bubble_B0y Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 03-20-2012 07:01 PM
How long does a "cycling" take? Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 5 10-17-2004 02:27 PM
"Frag" - "Barter"/"Trade" for OmarD Archive 1 11-26-2003 12:14 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.