Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-05-2011, 10:25 PM   #21
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Loach23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Stratford ct
Posts: 175
I used miracle grow with laterite and clay for my tank. But you can see how beneficial it is to mineralize. But I didn't do it either, their are more than one way to do it. I went the fast way just because I'm impatient lol.
__________________

__________________
Loach23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 10:51 PM   #22
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Mr.Micro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Lemont, Illinois
Posts: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillD View Post
I use primarly sponge filters in my tanks. the reason is cost and the need for only one small air pump that uses 18 watts of electricity to run 14 filters. I can pretty much guarantee that these tanks don't have 10 times turnover, or probably not even 3 times per hour, but they are all functioning just the same.
It all becomes a matter of preference or necessity.... So for a small/med freshwater planted tank or even fish only tank... if your load is small enough a sponge filter may be all you need... If i still bred Beta's ... I'd have a 10gal tank with a sponge filter and no substrate. However... to try that with a larger saltwater tank would be suicide... Try a sponge filter with sloppy eating triggers or puffers and see how far that gets you.... The needs then change....

I do agree if your filter is keeping your numbers @ 0ppm... then you DO have adequate filtration...

Maintenance should be another concern too... Keep in mind the larger the surface area of the filter, the longer the filter will last...
__________________

__________________
Mr.Micro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 12:04 AM   #23
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Whitby, Ont,Canada
Posts: 2,755
This thread is with regard to fresh water, possibly planted. Sorry, I don't see how sloppy fish would negate using a sponge filter, unless you want a filter to suck up stuff and hide it from view. My point with this is there seems to be a trend to really large filtration, far exceeding what is necessary. That in itself is fine, but, it creates the impression that a larger filter needs less maintenance, whereas, what defines the amount/intervals of maintenance a tank needs it's is the bioload.
Hiding a lot of detritus in a cannister, gives the impression the tank is clean, but, everything in the filter needs to be considered to be still in the tank. As a far as the efficicy of a sponge, if you consider Hamburg style filters as sponge filters, they easily filter large tanks, with very little maintenance, as rarely as yearly. A friend is using air powered Hamburg filtration on his 350 gal tank (actually all his 34 tanks). Again, I doubt he has 1 turnover, even though his homemade airlifts move a lot of water.
__________________
Join a fish club. Don't have one in your area? Start one.
BillD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 12:01 PM   #24
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Mr.Micro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Lemont, Illinois
Posts: 45
The Hamburg filtration method has it's place i guess... As i stated earlier.. This topic will ALWAYS be a matter of preference..

I think the important thing to remember in any tank is no matter what, maintenance will always be important.

Now while I do not depend on sponge filtration for my tanks.. I make no mistake in realizing that trapped particulate in the filter is still considered to be in my tank... however... I prefer my wet/dry & sump configuration due to the versatility and the large bio-bed that is created... Not because of the mechanical (particulate) filtration... any filter can do that.

J
__________________
An eye for an eye, will make the whole world blind!
Mr.Micro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 05:22 PM   #25
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Whitby, Ont,Canada
Posts: 2,755
Wet drys are great, but they take up a lot of space and cost as much as another tank setup. My preference would be for another tank in that space. You, Mr Micro are in the minority, as far as considering that what is in the filter is still in the tank. Regardless, my point is that turnover is not a big deal as long as the filter does it's job.
__________________

__________________
Join a fish club. Don't have one in your area? Start one.
BillD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filtration, gph

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Filtration issues, or lack-there-of filtration... penelope Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 9 03-02-2008 08:22 PM
Pump GPH Ksnell Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 09-18-2006 11:53 PM
Proper gph for water filtration? Zagz Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 26 07-26-2005 12:45 PM
my first fuge: overflow gph vs. return pump gph copi Saltwater Reef Aquaria 16 05-05-2005 10:58 PM
How much GPH powerheads mike333 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 19 05-01-2005 02:55 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.