Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-12-2005, 08:39 AM   #1
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 3,968
How to flush RO/DI System

I have the AquaFX Barracuda and need to know how to flush the system. I'm still at 0ppm, but I've yet to back flush it and I've heard it's a good thing. Any help on how to do it would be appreciated!
__________________

__________________
Bearfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2005, 02:45 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 3,968
Bump Bump Bump
__________________

__________________
Bearfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2005, 06:22 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 6,015
Send a message via AIM to greenmaji
There should be a valve on the unit that bypasses the RO cartridge, allowing you to run water over it.. Im pretty sure thats what back-flushing is as far as I know..
__________________
greenmaji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2005, 08:24 PM   #4
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,362
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
Here is my RO unit and they show how to do a manual flush. It should work if your setup is similar.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...390545610&rd=1
__________________
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2005, 04:28 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Winter Park, Fl
Posts: 10
Flush & Flush kits

The flow restricter is located some where in the waste line, in our units it is where the waste line meets the membranes housing.

If you bypass the flow restricter the water will take the path of least resistance and "flush" the surface of the membrane.

If you can view the 1st few seconds of water, you can really see the debris.

Due to this posting, we are going to offer flush kits on our units to AquariumAdvice people. For you people who already have a unit, we will give you one. We do ask for the shipping charge.

Thank you for writing this. Your feed back helps us improve.
__________________
Marianne
www.aquaFX.net
www.aquariumwaterfilters.com
AquaFX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ro/di, stem, system

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do you flush fish? Lonewolfblue Aquaria Off-Topic 8 12-19-2006 08:45 PM
Flush DI resin? MT79 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 08-29-2005 10:11 PM
flush kit on RO saltwatersmac General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 04-03-2005 06:12 AM
Snail ID Please before I flush it! stresco Saltwater & Reef - Identification 10 04-01-2005 02:36 PM
Ro Flush drinkingbird General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 12-11-2003 12:03 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.