Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-09-2005, 12:59 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Tiffi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: first ST-Germany, now TN-USA
Posts: 1,051
How to regulate Milwaukee Regulator?

Got my regulator yesterday and my husband set it up for me. Yesterday it was working the way I had it adjusted.

This morning there were no bubbles, I turned it all the way open, and after a little eruption of gas in the water it showed constant bubbles again. But only for a half a minute or so. I adjusted it and only little time later it slowed down again and stops ! What is that all about? Is it broke? Am I loosing gas?
__________________

__________________
Previously: 2x 10gal tank, 45gal aquascaped, 70gal aquascaped
Currently: 16gal FW, 40W CF, ADA Aquasoil Amazonia II/Tahitan Moon Sand, PH 6.5, kH2, gH 4
Tiffi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2005, 01:13 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Memphis,Tn US
Posts: 447
Tiffi, there should be two guages on the regulator. One guage shows the bottle's volume and should have numbers in hundreds. The other shows line pressure and should have numbers in tens. When you open the valve on the bottle, the volume guage should go up above any red area to 500 or more. The screw on the regulator controls line pressure and should be run in until the guage moves. You only need about 1 psi on the line. From there use your needle valve to set your bubble rate. It sounds like your welder may have sold you a near empty bottle but I could be mis-interpreting your info.
__________________

__________________
Hoovercat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2005, 01:26 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Tiffi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: first ST-Germany, now TN-USA
Posts: 1,051
Ok, I don't have any red areas on the gauges. But here is a picture, so you can see how it looks like right now:



So now again, what shall I open and what shall it show?
__________________
Previously: 2x 10gal tank, 45gal aquascaped, 70gal aquascaped
Currently: 16gal FW, 40W CF, ADA Aquasoil Amazonia II/Tahitan Moon Sand, PH 6.5, kH2, gH 4
Tiffi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2005, 01:33 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Memphis,Tn US
Posts: 447
The left guage is tank volume and the right is line pressure. See the right guage that's almost at 10, run out the screw until it drops almost to 0. You do have a needle valve on your setup don't you?
__________________
Hoovercat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2005, 01:41 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Tiffi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: first ST-Germany, now TN-USA
Posts: 1,051
Ok, thank you very much. I've just been on the milwaukee page for a second. The say I should turn the line pressure all the way up till it shown 10 and then adjust with the needle valve. That's what I did and so far it's running now . If it still runs in an hour I should have made it .

Thank you very much though, hoovercat !
__________________
Previously: 2x 10gal tank, 45gal aquascaped, 70gal aquascaped
Currently: 16gal FW, 40W CF, ADA Aquasoil Amazonia II/Tahitan Moon Sand, PH 6.5, kH2, gH 4
Tiffi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2005, 01:51 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Tiffi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: first ST-Germany, now TN-USA
Posts: 1,051
Ok, maybe not, it's slowing down again .
__________________
Previously: 2x 10gal tank, 45gal aquascaped, 70gal aquascaped
Currently: 16gal FW, 40W CF, ADA Aquasoil Amazonia II/Tahitan Moon Sand, PH 6.5, kH2, gH 4
Tiffi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2005, 01:54 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Tiffi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: first ST-Germany, now TN-USA
Posts: 1,051
I can turn the screw as much as I want and it's not going back until 0. It's not going back at all, only more up if I open it more.

Man, this is spooky 8O .
__________________
Previously: 2x 10gal tank, 45gal aquascaped, 70gal aquascaped
Currently: 16gal FW, 40W CF, ADA Aquasoil Amazonia II/Tahitan Moon Sand, PH 6.5, kH2, gH 4
Tiffi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2005, 04:26 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Rocky Mount, NC
Posts: 39
Unless you have a check valve, a little water (a little is all it takes to ruin one of these) may have ran into the regulator when there was no pressure in the line. Also the diaphragm in these has been known to have a slight break-in period see here.
http://www.plantgeek.net/forum/viewt...egulator+break
__________________
"If my fist clinches crack it open, before I use it and loose my cool." Roger Daltrey - The Who
QuantumCranker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2005, 05:44 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Memphis,Tn US
Posts: 447
Tiffi, the line pressure guage will only drop as the line pressure goes down. You can crack open the line to your bubble counter to bleed off the CO2 in the line while adjusting the regulator. Otherwise, the guage will show increases instantly but decreases will take a long time to register. Basicly you'll be waiting for the excess pressure to go into the tank.
__________________
Hoovercat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2005, 05:54 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Tiffi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: first ST-Germany, now TN-USA
Posts: 1,051
Aaah, that sounds logical .

The regulator is running the same bubble speed for about two hours now. I think it was like in the link QC posted. Probably just the spring in there to stiff. But I'm getting there !
__________________

__________________
Previously: 2x 10gal tank, 45gal aquascaped, 70gal aquascaped
Currently: 16gal FW, 40W CF, ADA Aquasoil Amazonia II/Tahitan Moon Sand, PH 6.5, kH2, gH 4
Tiffi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
regulator

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
milwaukee regulator with ph controller question timwag2001 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 11 10-02-2009 05:00 AM
FS-New never used Milwaukee Regulator CHBGator Archive 2 07-13-2007 07:26 PM
FS - Milwaukee MA97 CO2 regulator malkore Archive 1 06-23-2007 02:41 PM
Milwaukee All In One Regulator Question LindaC Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 7 07-17-2006 11:32 AM
How big is a Milwaukee regulator? Tiffi Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 7 10-04-2005 05:15 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.