Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-17-2011, 12:49 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
revchristinejday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Johnson City, NY
Posts: 156
How to Switch from SW over to FW

I have my eye on a new larger tank for my goldie, but it was last used as a saltwater aquarium...what do I need to know and how do I condition/clean it for the transition to freshwater?
Thanks,
Chris
__________________

__________________
revchristinejday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2011, 12:51 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
slitherbomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Miami Beach, FL
Posts: 2,191
The only thing you have to do is clean it off completely.
__________________

__________________
Lalala
slitherbomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2011, 01:02 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
mdawg75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: East Tennessee
Posts: 569
As the Bomb said, and the only reason I know is I just asked the same question. The good folks here suggested a Vinegar water solution to clean and rinse throughly. Oh and if there are tough spots use salt as an abrasive to clean. Make sure its not acryllic or then do not use the salt to clean.
__________________
mdawg75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2011, 03:50 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
revchristinejday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Johnson City, NY
Posts: 156
Thanks! How about the filters? Someone told me I can't use the filter if it was used for SW...Can't I just replace the media (or rather transfer from another tank....)
Chris
__________________
revchristinejday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2011, 10:12 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
mdawg75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: East Tennessee
Posts: 569
Depends on what kind, the mechanical part after good cleansing (not soap) but ya the media gets tossed. I do not know this for sure so someone with some hands on should answer I guess, but that is partly what I am doing.
__________________
mdawg75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 12:22 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
coffeetwitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: springfield mo
Posts: 3,690
ive been recently told on aa that the bb is different and that switching will still require cycling your tank. if they are hob filters may as well get new pads or bio wheels. if canister filters just rinse the media in tap water and allow tank to cycle and grow the freshwater bb
__________________
coffeetwitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 10:51 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
revchristinejday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Johnson City, NY
Posts: 156
Thanks! And if I move some gravel and media over...that should be a faster cycle, right?
Chris
__________________
revchristinejday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 11:04 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Alberta canada
Posts: 2,360
Send a message via Skype™ to kdpuffer
It will only speed up the cycle if the sand and media are from freshwater.
__________________
kdpuffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 12:25 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
coffeetwitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: springfield mo
Posts: 3,690
Freshwater and saltwater bb is a subject im confused on too ive been told one thing yet read another, so far more say they are different. I guess we will both find out considering im going fresh to salt and going to use my freshwater canister filters until i can get all the lr i need and get it cured
__________________
coffeetwitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 12:27 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
revchristinejday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Johnson City, NY
Posts: 156
The media and gravel will be from one of my fresh water tanks.
Thanks!
__________________

__________________
revchristinejday is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
can nerite snails switch from saltwater to freshwater? maxwellag Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 07-01-2012 09:51 AM
Set up help for a 3 bulb two switch fixture with timer barterking85 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 13 08-12-2011 03:57 PM
I am going to make the switch to all live plants. maxwellag Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 07-23-2011 01:26 AM
made the switch! tarpon Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 33 07-22-2011 01:25 AM
Filter switch or not xfactor6699 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 0 07-18-2011 01:15 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.