Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-28-2012, 02:30 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Naperville Il
Posts: 369
humidity

I'm 6 years in this hobby. And I found out this now. Maybe I'm not too bright I never read anything about this, but it makes sens. I have 125 reef plus 30 gal sump. No covers I have 1 gal evaporation every day. Because of this I do not have to use humidifire. In family room where tank is 60% humidity all others 40-50%. When I turned on humidifire it was over 70%. So because all evaporation air in the house is not dry during winter when furnace is runing. Hm..strange but makes sense. Maybe I should put covers ( lids) on. But I heard that is no good because no gas Exchange. What you guys think about it? Thanks.
__________________

__________________
artur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 11:58 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Central PA
Posts: 1,651
I now run a covered tank because of the evap.,,but my main issue was since the bigger upgrade i noticed condensation on my windows in the winter ..covered the tank and it stopped..Not worried about gas exchange too much,my sump is still open so i think thats fine.
__________________

__________________
Currently rebuilding
QTing is a good thing
Grow your filtration
FTMMWS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 04:40 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
I have problems with wet windows and mold. I leave the tank room (my system is in wall with a room dedicated to it) window cracked to exchange air for now, but will install a humidity controlled exhaust fan eventually. I have the DT open but the sumps covered. You can try covering the display and see if it negatively effects the tank.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 04:42 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Naperville Il
Posts: 369
Yes I saw condensation on my windows too. But that was only when I turned humidifire on my furnace too. So it was too much humidity when both worked. When humidifire is off it looks ok, my tank works as one. Funny.
Quote:
Originally Posted by FTMMWS View Post
I now run a covered tank because of the evap.,,but my main issue was since the bigger upgrade i noticed condensation on my windows in the winter ..covered the tank and it stopped..Not worried about gas exchange too much,my sump is still open so i think thats fine.
__________________
artur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 04:44 PM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,070
IMO, in wall set ups should always have a dehumidifier or exhaust. We all know moisture warps and bends wood. I got a $350 70 pint dehumidifier for $75 off of craigslist that I run in the basement with my tanks. You'd be amazed how much water that thing pulls out. It's almost like there is an invisible hose that drains my tank right into that thing.
__________________
meegosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.