Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-17-2007, 08:03 PM   #1
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,362
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
Hydor Koralia 3

I just got in my 2 Koralia 3's. Got them to replace the 2 Aquaclear 801's I had (75g tank). The Koralia's are rated at 850 gph while the AC's were 400 gph. I also have a RIO 600 (200 gph) in the tank. So with the 2 new Koralia's and the RIO I have a 1900 gph turnover, plus my sump return pump (QuietOne 3000) which is about 600 gph at 3' head pressure. This gives me aprox 2500 gph for about 33x turn over. The tank is SPS dominated.

The Koralia is nice. Very dispersed flow, but I sort of wish I went with the 4's. The 3's definitely are not too much flow. The fish don't mind it at all and I didn't even get a hint of the sand storm I was expecting. Overall tho, I like them so far.
__________________

__________________
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2007, 08:17 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
I have the 2s in my 55 and the 4s in my 125. I like the gentle dispersed water flow.
__________________

__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2007, 11:02 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
Your power bill will like the new pumps much better then the 801s!!
__________________
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2007, 05:35 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 47
Dont want to worry any of you guys but over here in the UK, Hydor have recalled all the 2's and 3's ! Some problem with them going bang inside tanks !!! Literally self distructing.

No lfs has any 2 or 3 in stock, only 1 and 4's. It may be down to the fact that we use 240v in Europe, but may be worth doing some research on.

I have 2 of the Korelia 4's and love em dearly although they have a clicky noise at startup which is a bit iritating with my wave bar. Plus they dont offer much protection from an inquisitive bta. I learnt that lesson the hard way :-(
__________________
Snotman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2007, 10:48 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Appleton, WI
Posts: 578
I have heard that the recall applies here in the US, but I am not positive on that. Also, the "clickity" noise is from the impeller starting up rotating backwards, and then the shaft pops up (aka clicks) and then restarts the impeller. Generally, upon restarting, it starts fine and quietly.

Also, these are not designed (as because of the aforementioned issue) to be on a start/stop cycle (or SCWD or wavemaker). You will probably reduce the life of the motor of the PH, but I don't know what that literally means. HTH
__________________
75g FW Planted Community; 55g African Cichlid
29g Biocube SW Reef;12g AP Mantis Shrimp/Brittle Star
2 Cats, 2 Dogs, 5 Turtles
MSU Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2007, 10:55 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 47
I dont know how much of this is tru but the Aqua medic Wave solution slowly ramps power to the PH not just on/off instantly and is supposed to be much better for the ph. I hope this is the case as it costs $400 compared to the Maxijet equivenlent of $100. But Aqua medic stuff is never cheap!
__________________
Snotman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2007, 02:18 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
I agree with MSU on not putting them on the wave timer. I know that the Tunze 6055 can be controlled....below is from the Tunze website...264-1453 gph. Not bad especially with the type of flow it creates! I love my 6025, I have a second one on the way....I'm hoping it will get here today or tomorrow.

****Model 6055 has been fitted with an electronic control and a FishCare function when the motor is at a standstill. This pump can be electronically operated by Multicontroller as well as by Singlecontroller.***
__________________
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2007, 10:38 PM   #8
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,362
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
The 2's and 3's were recalled soon after they came out (Jan. I believe). They were leaking voltage and ppl were feeling it when they put their hands in their tanks. There's a big thread on RC about it. That's why they were out of stock everywhere for a few months. Drs Foster & Smith just got them back in stock a few weeks ago.
Supposedly you can use the Seio controller on the Koralia's since that controller doesn't turn them totally off. It adjusts the power from 100% to a low of 50%, so they don't actually stop and restart.
__________________

__________________
/Larry
125g reef
See My Tank Info
Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
hydor, hydor koralia, koralia

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hydor Koralia 2 to replace Airstone? Mr. Mantis General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 09-28-2008 09:33 PM
hydor koralia 12v tamra&steven General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 7 08-16-2008 11:09 PM
Hydor Koralia 1 Social_d87 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 7 04-16-2008 01:04 AM
Hydor Koralia nano, 1, 2 and so on blindskate General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 04-08-2008 05:45 PM
Hydor Koralia 4 chase33 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 05-04-2007 11:14 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.