Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-01-2013, 05:00 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
mikestanked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: El Segundo, California
Posts: 289
Hydor koralia help.

I just got a new 425gph power head from hydor, its my second PH in my tank. I'm plugging it in and nothing happens. I've tried it about 50 f*ing times and still nothing. Sometimes my other PH does this also, but after I wiggle the cord or give it a tap it starts up. I've tried this with the new one, still nothing!
Help me please
__________________

__________________
YOU EAT SHARK=SHARK EAT YOU!



mikestanked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 06:50 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
mikestanked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: El Segundo, California
Posts: 289
Has anyone encountered this issue before?
__________________

__________________
YOU EAT SHARK=SHARK EAT YOU!



mikestanked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 06:59 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dmolavi's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sewell, NJ
Posts: 2,123
You've got it submerged, right? (Just want to cover all the bases here).

I have 2 of them in my tank, and they always start first time, every time. You might want to give Hydor a call, or swap it from your vendor.
__________________
20 gallon nano-reef torn down to make way for the 40B Reef (original thread and current update).
dmolavi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 07:17 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
mikestanked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: El Segundo, California
Posts: 289
Yeah its submerged, I'm gonna give hydor a call. And quickly before I have a 40 dollar PH going right through my TV
__________________
YOU EAT SHARK=SHARK EAT YOU!



mikestanked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 08:04 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
MikeYQM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 489
Take the cover off & check the impeller. It's either split and seized or dirty & stuck. Mine do this occasionally but they free up with a spin of the impeller.
__________________
MikeYQM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 08:17 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
MarinaClown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Marina Del Rey, CA
Posts: 790
I had his happen before. I used it for water changes and one day it decided not to work. I threw it away and got another one. Mine was a 245 though
__________________
60 Gallon SPS dominated reef tank.
MarinaClown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 08:26 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Riley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: NW Indiana
Posts: 290
Mine also does that and I plug unplug plug unplug untill it starts .. Even cleaning it doesn't seem to always fix it. Sometimes mine even does reverse flow which is weird.. I bought a aquatop ph and haven't had a issue since actually I was so happy with the price and the product itself i bought one to mix my water
__________________
Riley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 08:36 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
mikestanked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: El Segundo, California
Posts: 289
Riley, my 750gph does the same thing. Its weird.
__________________

__________________
YOU EAT SHARK=SHARK EAT YOU!



mikestanked is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.