Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-25-2013, 03:50 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
begginersluck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Jersey Channel islands
Posts: 671
Hydor Koralia Smartwave

Anyone have any experience or have these?
__________________

__________________
Current tank 260g FOWLR.

Fish: Moorish Idol, Powder Blue Tang, Hippo Tang, J Emperor Angel, 3 Chromis, 2 Black & White Clowns, Yellow Tang,
begginersluck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 05:00 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
sanderson417's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 178
I have it and I like it a lot. I actually added a power splitter to the plugs, so I have a total of 4 korilla pumps hooked up to it. It helped me a great deal with adding flow.
__________________

__________________
sanderson417 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 05:09 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
begginersluck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Jersey Channel islands
Posts: 671
I currently have 3 new koralia 4000's plugged into my new smartwave and its been running for about a week. I can only say i'm vastly disappointed and wish i hadn't wasted my money.

Unfortunateyl i am about to take a loss and sell the 3 powerheads and control unit and invest in 2 ecotech MP40's or possibly 1 MP40 and 1MP10.

Its a little difficult to decide as the depth of my tank is 28 inches and i want to make sure i have maximum flow!
__________________
begginersluck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 05:21 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flaxon-Waxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 2,788
Quote:
Originally Posted by begginersluck View Post
I currently have 3 new koralia 4000's plugged into my new smartwave and its been running for about a week. I can only say i'm vastly disappointed and wish i hadn't wasted my money.

Unfortunateyl i am about to take a loss and sell the 3 powerheads and control unit and invest in 2 ecotech MP40's or possibly 1 MP40 and 1MP10.

Its a little difficult to decide as the depth of my tank is 28 inches and i want to make sure i have maximum flow!
Why so disappointed? Mine is great...
__________________
Flaxon-Waxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 06:02 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
begginersluck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Jersey Channel islands
Posts: 671
They are noisy when starting up and when this is every 10 seconds its rather distracting. Alternatively have them go on and off every hour to 6 hours meaning you get absolutely no flow for up to 6 hours. When they run in conjunction with each other you get that annoying noise again every time the turn on!

I think the control unit is the biggest waste of money ever and the power heads IMO actually benefit without the smartwave!
__________________
Current tank 260g FOWLR.

Fish: Moorish Idol, Powder Blue Tang, Hippo Tang, J Emperor Angel, 3 Chromis, 2 Black & White Clowns, Yellow Tang,
begginersluck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 08:26 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Fleetwood PA.
Posts: 168
I like mine, I'm running 4 power heads of different sizes on it in a varying pattern and it works quite well, good flow throughout my 150. I have them set to alternate every hour and barely even notice the click of the power heads. Just an FYI, the noise comes from the power heads and not from the controller.
__________________
JonathanG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 09:35 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Holygral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Conneaut, Ohio
Posts: 786
Just ordered one of these, duel head the cycles thru 3 different settings in one head and then switches to the other

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004HUA28Y/ref=oh_details_o00_s00_i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1
__________________
Holygral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 10:22 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
sanderson417's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 178
I haven't noticed the noise either.
__________________
sanderson417 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2013, 04:23 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
begginersluck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Jersey Channel islands
Posts: 671
Yes I know the noise is due to the power heads turning on and off. I would much prefer a more random flow and these don't seem to get in and under the rocks.

I'm either going to get rid of the 'controller' which isn't really a controller and have them running on a switch or upgrade to ecotech.
__________________
Current tank 260g FOWLR.

Fish: Moorish Idol, Powder Blue Tang, Hippo Tang, J Emperor Angel, 3 Chromis, 2 Black & White Clowns, Yellow Tang,
begginersluck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2013, 03:32 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 765
I have one with two 1050's. and even at every 5 seconds I can barely hear the clicking.. Yes the only downfall is you cannot run both continuously . But buy two more and you can have plenty of current going any direction you choose
__________________

__________________
JJ-MIK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
hydor, hydor koralia, koralia

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.