Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-11-2010, 08:02 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
jose7878's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Hammonton, NJ
Posts: 577
Well I ended up calling Icecap today and Spoke to Bill (may I say one of the friendliest person I've spoken to from a company).He told me to send it to him and he will convert it over to a 110v for me . For a small price of course.
So my problem is solved.
__________________

__________________
**********Visit my build thread*********
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...al-193525.html
jose7878 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 08:05 PM   #12
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,410
there is always that little catch $$$ lol
__________________

__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2010, 10:03 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
jose7878's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Hammonton, NJ
Posts: 577
Yeah But still cheaper then buying brand new and it will get a complete over look to make sure everything is in working order.....

So basically it will be new...
__________________
**********Visit my build thread*********
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...al-193525.html
jose7878 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 09:23 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
jim692's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: southeast, PA.
Posts: 387
Quote:
Originally Posted by Be2lose View Post
Ok I've been told this, but why is it not safe? I have also been told that you get "cleaner" power with 2 110's.
Not sure.

I would like a good reason to do it or not.
There are various reasons. The voltage drop in a normal electric cord, feeding the circuit breakers from the output side, ability to overload a line because of the reverse flow, etc.

When you back feed the house from a generator, do you shut off the main house supply breaker?
__________________
Jim
jim692 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 05:04 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Be2lose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Boulder Creek, CA
Posts: 110
Send a message via ICQ to Be2lose
Quote:
Originally Posted by jim692 View Post
When you back feed the house from a generator, do you shut off the main house supply breaker?
Yes, if not I would be trying to power the whole grid.
__________________
Let's Go SHARKS!!!
Be2lose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 07:23 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
jim692's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: southeast, PA.
Posts: 387
Quote:
Originally Posted by Be2lose View Post
Yes, if not I would be trying to power the whole grid.
yep. People have tried it. It gets more exciting when the power comes back on......
__________________
Jim
jim692 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 07:44 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thincat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,330
Quote:
Originally Posted by jose7878 View Post
Yeah But still cheaper then buying brand new and it will get a complete over look to make sure everything is in working order.....

So basically it will be new...
Looks like a small price to pay for a complete workover.
Glad to hear that...IceCaps a good company...
__________________

__________________
Happy Reefing,
TC
thincat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ballast, cap

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Ice Cap prewired Retro Fit Kit with 660 Ballast Tank2379 Archive 10 11-02-2009 03:30 AM
Ice Cap Ballast Ducky Archive 0 08-11-2006 05:13 PM
ice cap ballast HELP!!! whitetiprs General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 9 07-26-2005 02:58 PM
Ice Cap 660 Ballast GrndHog Saltwater Reef Aquaria 7 10-02-2003 07:46 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.