Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-06-2006, 09:44 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 22
Identifying tank/lid size???

i bought a huge tank (dimensions are 72 1/2 X 24 1/2 X 30 1/4 od) and was told it is a 225 gal. i am trying to figure out it's true size. i visited all glass' website and all they have listed at most is a 210 gal, with dimensions at 72 1/2 X 24 1/2 X 29 5/8. http://www.all-glass.com/services/index.html (under technical info)

this leads me to believe my tank is made by perfecto, but their website is down. http://www.perfectomfg.com/

then, i stumbled upon saltyzoo.com's aquarium converter..... http://www.saltyzoo.com/SaltyCalcs/DimGalConv.php


according to them, i, indeed do, have a 225 gal. i just need some confirmation if any of you out there are experienced in the dimensions of aquariums....

i am in search of a glass lid (1) because my arrowana broke one and i had some plywood covering the new "hole." but don't know what size to order for. thanks!!!


if not anything, at least there's a cool link for saltyzoo, i am sure everyone can get some use out of that thing......
__________________

__________________
blugrassboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2006, 04:29 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Alshain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Tyler, TX
Posts: 823
Its true size is a math equation.

Total Area (in. cubed) = L in. x W in. x H in.
1 US gallon = 231.000001 in. cubed

72.5 x 24.5 x 30.25 = 53731.5625
53731/231 = ~233

So it is about 233 gallons. I rounded the decimals but its close enough. I bet you measured from the outside though. To get its true size you should measure from the inside, glass that for a tank that size will be quite thick. But in any case, it looks like you have a 225 gallon alright. As for the lid, does the tank have some kind of divided frame?
__________________

__________________
Alshain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2006, 10:38 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 22
thanks for clearing that up!! the top DOES have dividers (2). this makes for three lids. i stoppoed by my LFS and they want to sell me all three...
__________________
blugrassboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2006, 12:34 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 455
Of course they do. The tank is 72 inches long so basically all you need is enough lids to cover that. I.e. two 36 inches or some other combination that adds up to 72 inches.
__________________
I'm selling in line co2 diffusers. If you're interested in buying one PM me.
hulkamaniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2006, 08:38 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by hulkamaniac
Of course they do. The tank is 72 inches long so basically all you need is enough lids to cover that. I.e. two 36 inches or some other combination that adds up to 72 inches.
my tank has a total of 3 lids, not two, but i get the drift.......thanks for the info guys......anyone have a link 4 any of these 4 sale?????
__________________
blugrassboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2006, 10:39 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Alshain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Tyler, TX
Posts: 823
I got mine from Petland locally. They sell the Marineland perfecto lids. Usually a decent price for them too. Of course I hate to buy glass over the internet but you can get them from www.drsfostersmith.com

Direct Link

You will need 3 lids (probably 24") and they should be measured from the inside edge of each divider (they should all be the same length but some tanks are weird). There will be a lip on the framing which the lids will rest on. They come with a plastic rear section that can be cut for filter tubing or HOB filter input and electrical cables (such as an in-tank heater) or airline tubing. I would recommend cutting as close to the inputs as possible. You do not want a gap that a fish could jump through.

Finally back to your original post, I forgot to mention, Perfecto is a division of Marineland so their website is www.marineland.com
__________________

__________________
Alshain is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
identifying, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Top/Lid for my tank themangia1984 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 8 02-26-2009 10:29 PM
New Lid for 55gal Tank arliss DIY Projects 1 02-24-2006 06:08 PM
Tank cover/lid weekf General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 6 01-03-2006 03:48 PM
lockable tank lid sparky-277 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 11-10-2005 06:59 PM
how do u pronounce Cichlid ?? is it sick-lid or chick-lid ? Bubble_B0y Cichlid Discussion 3 10-25-2005 12:15 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.