I'm throwing it out the window

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

msmortis

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I bought a Marineland Penguin 100B filter today. Installed around noon, almost twelve hours later and I want to throw it out the window. This filter is SUPER noisy. It's a mechanical noise that is so loud it is heard over television, or everyday conversation including phone calls. I've taken apart the filter, the impeller, everything. Nothing makes a difference. Did I get a defective filter system? Are these filters normal this loud? How can I make it stop?

Thanks in advance everyone,
Aly

Try to exchange it and see if its just defective. If not go with a different brand.

I can't exchange until tomorrow. Do you think it'll be alright without a filter overnight? I'm a fish newbie. I've got two goldfish in a 10gal aquarium.

I've got the same filter on my main tank, and a quarantine tank. Quiet as quiet can be. Can you describe the noise you're hearing, and where it's coming from. Picture of the setup, maybe? Maybe we can help. Granted... there's always defective units, but I can't think of anything on this thing that would make it loud if it wasn't working right. It either pumps water, or it doesn't. Is it pumping water and is the biowheel spinning?

I bought a Marineland Penguin 100B filter today. Installed around noon, almost twelve hours later and I want to throw it out the window. This filter is SUPER noisy. It's a mechanical noise that is so loud it is heard over television, or everyday conversation including phone calls. I've taken apart the filter, the impeller, everything. Nothing makes a difference. Did I get a defective filter system? Are these filters normal this loud? How can I make it stop?

Thanks in advance everyone,
Aly