Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-27-2016, 12:28 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Carriwin's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 310
Send a message via Skype™ to Carriwin
They're called backup UPS (Universal Power Source). You can find decent ones online. I googled them and there are a range of prices. Be mindful that you want to make sure that whichever one you purchase can carry the wattage you're using for the desired length of time. (Geek had to reply. ) Also, some power strips automatically come with a UPS as well, to cover in the event the power goes out. Just food for thought.
__________________

__________________
-55 gallon FW, sand -55 gallon FW, planted fluorite -38 gallon black sand -10 gallon white sand nursery
-Carriwin's Tank Adventures
Carriwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2016, 11:57 AM   #12
Macro Addict
Community Moderator
 
54seaweed's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 6,767
I keep a small 2 horse generator handy just to run the tanks it pushes up to 700 watts perfect to keep all my pumps and lighting going .

I bought one of these a few years back best little investment I made , and it was less than a 100 bucks .

I tried one of those computer back ups but they are only good for a really short outage
I get about 14 hrs on a tank when under a full load ,
__________________

__________________
Fish are like chocolates you can't have just one!
Save
54seaweed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2016, 08:38 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Home
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by 54seaweed View Post
I keep a small 2 horse generator handy just to run the tanks it pushes up to 700 watts perfect to keep all my pumps and lighting going .

I bought one of these a few years back best little investment I made , and it was less than a 100 bucks .

I tried one of those computer back ups but they are only good for a really short outage
I get about 14 hrs on a tank when under a full load ,
Since it use gas, does it need to be set outdoor?

Sent from my XT1049 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Empty 55g tank, Marineland H.O.T. Magnum, Aqueon 100w heater
ISO: stand, test kit, light, planted gravel, plants, fish. ISO hospital tank for Tetra Whisper 40i
Won't start tank until a stand is built/bought
55tanker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2016, 08:06 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by 55tanker View Post
Since it use gas, does it need to be set outdoor?

Sent from my XT1049 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
Yeah, most likely.

Sent from my Nexus 5X using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
JonoDatInvento is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2016, 10:30 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Tampa Bay Area
Posts: 133
A ups system is designed so you can save your work in the event of a power outage and shut the computer down. Also most of them use ni-cad cells which degrade over time without being charged and discharged. Lithium cells are getting much cheaper now days but they re still expensive in comparison. Ie 5$ a cell for refurbished 4v cells. The problem is going to be in finding a fairly priced Lipo or lithium ion ups system. A backup genie for the house may not be such a bad investment.

Sent from my LG-H343 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Ruutah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2016, 12:49 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 543
UPS Uninterruptible power supply is what your looking for, usually for computers.
__________________
ScaryFatKidGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2016, 12:50 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 543
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruutah View Post
A ups system is designed so you can save your work in the event of a power outage and shut the computer down. Also most of them use ni-cad cells which degrade over time without being charged and discharged. Lithium cells are getting much cheaper now days but they re still expensive in comparison. Ie 5$ a cell for refurbished 4v cells. The problem is going to be in finding a fairly priced Lipo or lithium ion ups system. A backup genie for the house may not be such a bad investment.

Sent from my LG-H343 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
Just get a bunch of 18650's
__________________
ScaryFatKidGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2016, 08:07 PM   #18
Macro Addict
Community Moderator
 
54seaweed's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 6,767
Quote:
Originally Posted by 55tanker View Post
Since it use gas, does it need to be set outdoor?

Sent from my XT1049 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
yes it needs ventilation , you would run a extension cord , that generator will run 24 hrs on a 1g tank of gas.

looking at those computer backup batteries what do you do if your outage is longer than 4 hrs as that's what they are rated for .

I always depended on generators during power failures as I've encountered outages in my life time from 15 min to a month so I like to be prepared
I have been through back to back hurricanes that we lost power over a month back in the late 90's . my home was powered as everyone else wasn't I was able to keep the whole house powered on 3 generators , running ac fish tanks tv fridge ect
__________________

__________________
Fish are like chocolates you can't have just one!
Save
54seaweed is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
age, power outage

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
emergency question! Powering tank during power outage brunkdent Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 13 04-16-2012 08:44 AM
In case there is a power outtage... Breezyrae Nano Reefs 16 11-28-2011 11:16 AM
would like some information on what to use to back up my tank in case of power outage ustigerlily Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 05-15-2011 05:03 PM
update: emergency emergency clown loach is stuck in wood tropicfishman Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 12-01-2006 11:49 AM
POWER BACK UP DURING POWER OUTAGE Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 08-13-2004 04:52 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.