Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-21-2005, 11:05 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: TX
Posts: 73
IN-line TDS meter

I saw one on ebay for $30. Any ever use one?
__________________

__________________
75 gallon fish/reef - 50 lbs liverock - 4 VHO lighting (2 acentic) - 2 Eheim canisters
2 clowns - 1 damsels - 1 royal gramma - 1 coral banded shrimp - 1 cleaner shimp - 1 emerald crabs - assortment of snails and hermits - sandsifting star - orange starfish - 1 hammer - 1 bubble - 1 toadstool - 1 small colony of zoos
SpEd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2005, 12:36 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, California
Posts: 819
They're nice... nice, easy, and accurate. The only thing is that you can't really test the water coming directly from the tap, or in a separate container. Depending on the model, it will only test water that gets pumped through the meter, and not water that's just sitting there in a cup). That's why I went with a hand held version instead. Up to you really.
__________________

__________________
~~Rob
RLG2182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2005, 09:57 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
MarineFlake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Memphis, Tn
Posts: 816
They are most useful for helping to determine when your RO/DI system may be in need of some attention. I purchased one and realized that my RO/DI unit could benefit from a new membrane (It was 3 - 5 yrs old) Its all zero now on the way out! A good investment if your in it for the long haul!

GL!
__________________
To fail to plan is to plan to fail.
MarineFlake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2005, 10:49 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
I have one and it has 2 sensors. I have one hooked up inline right after my membrane an one on the final produce line. You can test in a cup if you want just unhook the sensone and place it in the cup.... IMO you dont need to test tap water you want to test final product. But It is nice to know what you start with, you really only need to test the tap water once..
30 is a good price.. I got mine from airwaterice.com.... great unit..
__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
line

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TDS meter... TDS? stratmaster General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 09-25-2009 06:29 PM
TDS Meter reading. baldyguy Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 01-14-2009 01:07 PM
TDS Meter mrcrazypants05 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 02-04-2006 03:04 AM
TDS meter MarineFlake General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 03-16-2005 10:39 PM
Hannah TDS meter and pH meter saltwatersmac Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 01-17-2005 10:49 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.