Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-15-2010, 09:19 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Whitestone, Queens, NY
Posts: 592
instead of a python....

has anyone ever tried just using a sump pump to do water changes?

just thinking of how long a 30% PWC takes on my 45 gal.... and now im setting up a 90 gal..... not to mention my water bill will probably double!
__________________

__________________
Andrewz00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2010, 09:22 PM   #2
is back to save the day!
 
Zer0's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,194
If you accidentally suck up an animal.. it will get shredded by the propeller. You also can't suck up sand(to clean it) with a pump because it will jam or damage the propeller. I would rather use a python because if anything gets sucked up, you can quickly retrieve it.
__________________

__________________
Thanks.
-Kevin
Zer0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2010, 09:24 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Whitestone, Queens, NY
Posts: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zer0 View Post
If you accidentally suck up an animal.. it will get shredded by the propeller. You also can't suck up sand(to clean it) with a pump because it will jam or damage the propeller. I would rather use a python because if anything gets sucked up, you can quickly retrieve it.
hahahaha! guess i should have thought that one out a lil more... thats what i get for an impulse post... now im thinking modification.... how about some type of pump on the end of the python....?
__________________
Andrewz00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2010, 10:02 PM   #4
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,410
i just run my python hose out the window to keep down the water costs, because i do a 50% pwc weekly on my 150g, it would cost a fortune to run the faucet the whole time
__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2010, 10:18 PM   #5
Great white snark
 
DragonFish71's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Longmont, Colorado
Posts: 6,563
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfdrookie516 View Post
i just run my python hose out the window to keep down the water costs, because i do a 50% pwc weekly on my 150g, it would cost a fortune to run the faucet the whole time

That's what I do on all the tanks but the BW. I don't know if the plants outside would enjoy reef salt. *lol*
__________________
Jamie.... "The fingers of natural selection are hovering over the delete button."
AA community rules: http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...ork&page=rules

AA ToS
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/misc.php?do=sknetwork&page=tos
DragonFish71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2010, 09:45 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oak Forest, IL
Posts: 4,388
Do you guys run into problems in the winter?
__________________
BigJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2010, 09:55 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Whitestone, Queens, NY
Posts: 592
i dont know about these guys... i wish i could just siphon out a window... but im in a basement apartment..... water doesnt like to siphon up hill...

theres got to be a way i can pump it out... and only use the python to clean gravel and put water back in the tank....
__________________
Andrewz00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2010, 10:55 AM   #8
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,410
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigJim View Post
Do you guys run into problems in the winter?
no, cause in the winter, i dont open a window, i just stick the hose in the shower and close the door against the hose to keep it from coming out. works just as good.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrewz00 View Post
i dont know about these guys... i wish i could just siphon out a window... but im in a basement apartment..... water doesnt like to siphon up hill...

theres got to be a way i can pump it out... and only use the python to clean gravel and put water back in the tank....
see above
__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2010, 11:08 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
WhiteDevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: 60118
Posts: 2,438
I use a sunterra pump to do PWC's on 3 of my tanks.

Its a in tank water pump for fountains and what not but the nipple fits the hose. set it in the tank, run the hose to the drain(get charged for it here anyways what comes in they charge the same to go out in my village) stir up the gravel a bit and all that crap goes right INTO the pump and out the hose. I put a pantyhose from the wife's work clothes drawer to prefilter to keep baby fish out of the drain.
__________________
That's not a planted tank. That's a jungle with glass around it- MFDROOKIE Circa 2011
WhiteDevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2010, 11:25 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Whitestone, Queens, NY
Posts: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteDevil View Post
I use a sunterra pump to do PWC's on 3 of my tanks.........I put a pantyhose from the wife's work clothes drawer to prefilter to keep baby fish out of the drain.
i do believe i will be doing this.... just sounds so much faster then a siphon....

you put the pantyhose on the end of the tube at the drain? or before the pump in the tank?
__________________

__________________
Andrewz00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
python

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Python use. martiniduck Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 14 01-22-2010 01:18 PM
python flushingfish Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 17 11-17-2006 03:41 PM
Python Hyrules General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 8 02-21-2006 04:33 PM
The Python Keeper Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 03-27-2004 08:16 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.