Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-02-2010, 09:06 PM   #1
is back to save the day!
 
Zer0's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,194
Intake and Return Plumbing

Alright well if i have a 1" bulkhead, which drains 600GPH is it? Will having a 1/2" return setup be good? Or do i need to have a 1" return setup to match the GPH of the 1" bulkhead?
__________________

__________________
Thanks.
-Kevin
Zer0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 10:07 PM   #2
Sliced Bread
 
neilanh's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 8,482
What pump are you using?

In hind sight, I wish I would've done my entire setup in 1", so I would recommend that. just because you have 1" pipes doesn't mean you have to run them at full capacity, and it gives the opportunity to upgrade later by just swapping a pump.

I used 3/4 for my return and my CL and I'm kicking myself now for it.
__________________

__________________
~Neilan
In the DC Metro Area? Check out GWAPA and WAMAS
neilanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2010, 01:35 AM   #3
is back to save the day!
 
Zer0's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,194
Hmm.. then i might be going with the 3/4" for the return. Only because glass-holes doesn't have a 1" return kit. Only a 1/2" and a 3/4" and i like the idea of being able to upgrade my return pump in the future, should i need to do so. Thanks for the help as usual neilan.
__________________
Thanks.
-Kevin
Zer0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2010, 05:19 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
WhiteDevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: 60118
Posts: 2,438
Quote:
Originally Posted by neilanh View Post
What pump are you using?

In hind sight, I wish I would've done my entire setup in 1", so I would recommend that. just because you have 1" pipes doesn't mean you have to run them at full capacity, and it gives the opportunity to upgrade later by just swapping a pump.

I used 3/4 for my return and my CL and I'm kicking myself now for it.
yep, use ball valves to control the flow

if you go 1" on the return dont you have to bump up the supply size?
__________________
That's not a planted tank. That's a jungle with glass around it- MFDROOKIE Circa 2011
WhiteDevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2010, 10:51 PM   #5
Sliced Bread
 
neilanh's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 8,482
you don't have to bump up the supply size, that's the beauty of it. Just because it can handle more flow doesn't mean it has to be there.
__________________
~Neilan
In the DC Metro Area? Check out GWAPA and WAMAS
neilanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2010, 02:31 PM   #6
is back to save the day!
 
Zer0's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,194
Alright, i hit another dilemma. If i have a 1" bulkhead for the overflow, could i still have a 1/2" return setup and have no problems with overflowing in the sump or DT?

Reason i ask.. is because glass-holes only has a 1/2" or 3/4" return kits, and the QuiteOne pump that i want to get only has 1/2" hose connectors. So yeah. any help would be nice.
__________________
Thanks.
-Kevin
Zer0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2010, 02:45 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
Yes, and you can always reduce the plumbing down to the sump too.
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2010, 02:49 PM   #8
is back to save the day!
 
Zer0's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,194
So then.. could i do something like a 1/2" overflow and a 1/2" return? It's only a 25G tank.. so i don't think it would need 600GPH.. but heck, i wouldn't know anyways.

Also, is there a limit as to where i can cut the holes in the tank? As in.. how far away should i be from the edges of the tank?

Edit

Nevermind.. glass-holes doesn't have a 1/2" overflow kit. They only have a 1" overflow kit. Alright then.. i guess ill be doing a 1" overflow, and a 1/2" return setup. Thanks for all the help guys.
__________________

__________________
Thanks.
-Kevin
Zer0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
intake, plumbing

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
intake/return line ? sb62nova General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 12-23-2009 04:08 AM
Plumbing Sumps Return Line. fijiwigi DIY Projects 5 02-05-2008 11:11 PM
Plumbing help! - return water into the sump is noisy austinsdad DIY Projects 7 05-01-2006 08:22 AM
Return Pump - Hard Plumbing issue fishman General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 02-24-2006 06:00 PM
filter intake justDIY DIY Projects 6 07-05-2003 01:23 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.