Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-22-2007, 11:02 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Marconis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 2,082
One says I don't need to buy a new one, others do. Why can't I use the sponge from the AC thats on my 46?
__________________

Marconis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2007, 11:17 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rich311k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 12,189
Send a message via Yahoo to rich311k
You can use it. I believe roka was thinking of a sponge bought at a store for household use.
__________________

__________________
From where the sun now stands, I will fight no more forever.
rich311k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2007, 11:17 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Marconis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 2,082



I accidentally cut it a little short, but I don't think it'll be that big of a deal because anytime I look at debris going into the intake, it goes through the top. Did I do an alright job?
Marconis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2007, 01:20 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
SparKy697's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 1,495
Quote:
Did I do an alright job?
I have never seen a more beautiful installation in my entire life!
__________________
-Joe
"...but the guy at the LFS said I needed it!"
SparKy697 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2007, 06:31 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Marconis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 2,082
Do I have to rinse it when I do PWC's?
Marconis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2007, 06:35 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: WOODSTOCK, GA
Posts: 973
Send a message via AIM to MACATUA Send a message via MSN to MACATUA Send a message via Yahoo to MACATUA
you don't have to, but any sponge, especially on a filter intake, can get pretty gross after a while, so rinsing it from time to time is probobly a good idea.
__________________
Woo Hoo, PAYDAY! Time to pay the LFS rent (even before I pay mine )


Join the Alabama Regional Forum!
MACATUA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2007, 06:41 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Marconis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 2,082
Thank you MAC.

Can even the finest grains of sand cause damage to an impeller?
Marconis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2007, 11:43 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Marconis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 2,082
Well, my AC50 pretty much answered my own question last night. It started grinding like crazy, and unplugging and plugging back in and cleaning wouldn't work. I'll have to replace it. However, my tank is still crystal clear with just the XP2 running. If it stays that way for the next couple days maybe I won't replace it. I guess I should buy a replacement impeller for the XP2 just in case though.
Marconis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2007, 11:12 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Marconis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 2,082
My tank is staying clear with the XP2 running on it's own, since the AC50 impeller was ruined. Question...if the sand can get through the tiny holes on my fish net, does that mean it can get through the AC sponge as well? Don't forget, I think I have the finest possible sand. Thanks
Marconis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2007, 08:26 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
gheitman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Champaign, Illinois
Posts: 1,260
Send a message via MSN to gheitman Send a message via Yahoo to gheitman
With extremely fine sand it would be possible I suppose to get through the sponge but anything that small probably wouldn't cause any damage. One thing to remember about that sponge is not only does it mechanically block larger grains of sand from getting into the filter but, because of the much greater surface area, the water is drawn with much less force. This means that it is less likely to suck in particles than it was before.
__________________

__________________
Gene Heitman - 12 tanks (11 freshwater and 1 saltwater), 206 gallons, 20+ species of fish/shrimp/snails, 52+ species of plants ... 10 years ago I just wanted 1 tank with some fish
gheitman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
intake, sponge

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intake cover? Marconis Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 3 12-01-2007 11:18 PM
Sponge over filter intake.. Gundy Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 07-11-2007 09:44 PM
Sponge for intake... Marconis General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 05-14-2007 08:58 AM
Is the intake sufficient? Jchillin General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 7 12-12-2004 12:29 PM
intake vs. pump lilismom1 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 12-02-2003 03:54 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.