Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-10-2010, 10:31 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: conshohocken pa
Posts: 17
iodine testing

I have the reef test kit and it does not have a iodine test y is that and do i have to check for that since i keep adding it to my tank.. how do i test for it and what should it be i cant find a test for it at the fish store
__________________

__________________
mason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2010, 10:33 AM   #2
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,242
I`m just wondering why you add it to the tank? PWC`s will add all the iodine you need to your tank.
__________________

__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2010, 10:37 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: conshohocken pa
Posts: 17
i dont know the fish store told me i needed to add it along with calcium and carbonate alkalinity i bought the bottles should i not add the iodide to the tank anymore
__________________
mason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2010, 11:04 AM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
Don't add anything IMO. Just do your water changes. Is there something special in your tank that needs more of that stuff?
__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2010, 11:19 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: conshohocken pa
Posts: 17
no nothing special thats what they told me to add for corals i will stop adding it then thank you. n i will do my watr changes i do them evey 2 weeks like clock work. so should i add calcium still and alkalinity?
__________________
mason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2010, 11:25 AM   #6
HN1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
HN1's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ga
Posts: 8,169
IMHO, you should never add anything that you can't test for. It leaves to much to guess work. As AD said, PWCs should be plenty to add back any trace elements.

The fish store is just trying to sell you stuff you don't need or they don't know enough to actually advise you. I'd start looking for a new one.
__________________
Question everything you see on the internet. ~ George Orwell
HN1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2010, 12:06 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
No, do not add calcium. Raise or lower alkalinity based on testing to see where you actually are.
__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2010, 12:07 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
Agree about the iodine... you probably don't need it. But you *may* need the calcium and alkalinity. It all depends on what is in your tank that is using it. If through testing you find that your calcium/alkalinity levels do not stay within acceptable levels (say 380-420ppm calcium and 8-12 dKh alkalinity) in the time between water changes, then you'll need to add cal/alk.

It really all depends on what salt mix you're using, how big the water changes are, and how much coral/coraline algae you have that's using it up.
__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2010, 12:09 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: conshohocken pa
Posts: 17
well i have a very lot of coraline algae and my alkalinity is always off tne charts i nhave done water changes and still its very high i do not know how to bring it down my clcium i check very frequent and add when needed
__________________
mason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2010, 12:46 PM   #10
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
What calcium reading makes you add it? And what is in your tank that makes you worry about it?
__________________

__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sting, testing

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iodine divedeep1689 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 10 10-14-2009 12:58 PM
iodine pluk1992 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 04-11-2005 11:58 AM
Iodine - What's up with that? SpeckledGrouper Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 8 08-18-2004 11:17 AM
Iodine. mansiz Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 03-20-2004 07:07 PM
Iodine ? easyian Saltwater Reef Aquaria 7 11-12-2003 09:00 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.