Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-11-2014, 11:14 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
saradomin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 94
Is an air pump necessary?

My 125 gallon is going to be equipped with dual Aquaclear 110's. Will the surface agitation from these two filters render an air pump an unnecessary item? They are also quite loud for my taste.
__________________

__________________
The RuneScape guy.
saradomin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2014, 11:17 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
fish wrangler's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: NE Illinois
Posts: 4,146
They are nice to have if you have one filter fail or both due to a power outage. Battery powered pumps can save the fish for a while. Also of you have to raise them water temperature for a treatment they can heep o2 in water

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
3 tanks
a 29 gallon high tech planted Chasing Red, a 20 long low tech, and a 75 gallon salty adventure
fish wrangler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2014, 11:23 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dalto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,104
Quote:
Originally Posted by saradomin View Post
My 125 gallon is going to be equipped with dual Aquaclear 110's. Will the surface agitation from these two filters render an air pump an unnecessary item? They are also quite loud for my taste.
You should not need an air pump. Most tanks, excluding those using sponge filters or UGFs do not need an air pump.
__________________
dalto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2014, 12:57 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Dallascowboys16's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Highlands Ranch, Co
Posts: 1,774
Its nice to keep one on hand for emergency but they are in no way necessary in a tank with a filter to agitate the surface of the water. They are mostly for aesthetic reasons if you like them.
__________________
55 gallon Planted Tank - 10 gallon Reef - 5.5 Pea Puffer
2015 AA Fantasy Football Champion
Dallascowboys16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2014, 08:58 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BBradbury's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4,353
Using Air Pumps

Quote:
Originally Posted by saradomin View Post
My 125 gallon is going to be equipped with dual Aquaclear 110's. Will the surface agitation from these two filters render an air pump an unnecessary item? They are also quite loud for my taste.
Hello sara...

The air pump is a nonessential. It's of no benefit to the tank. The filter system will do the job of mixing oxygen with the water. Remove the pump and save a bit of electricity.

B
__________________
"Fear not, my young apprentice. Just change the tank water."
BBradbury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2014, 01:16 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
MICEY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: SPRINGFIELD,OREGON
Posts: 490
I only use a ai rpump to hatch eggs or with a sponge filter with fry , I only use a filter in my main tanks , even run my sponge filters with power heads except with fry
only time you need to use an air stone in your tank is if the water is very hot (in summer) or if you are treating for illness
__________________

__________________
MICEY is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
air, air pump, pump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Should I trade in my 'up to fourth gallon air pump' for a 20 gallon air pump for my 2 courtney1626 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 03-01-2014 02:20 AM
air pump or no air pump? rpgmomma8404 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 11-16-2013 01:24 AM
Is an Air Pump necessary for Goldfish? SandyCheeks Freshwater & Brackish - Coldwater, Native Fish & Ponds 12 03-23-2013 05:30 PM
air pump split into 3 air lines: loss of air pressure? gabysapha General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 10 09-27-2011 09:09 AM
Air Pump Necessary? craig10 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 10-26-2002 11:08 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.